Yarrawonga Chronicle



YMGCR Ladies Nine Hole Golf Monday, February 6 – Stableford – 42 Players. A Grade

Winner – Rhonda McKenzie 17pts. Runner Up – Kathy Hunter 16pts.

B Grade

Winner – Marg Hore 18pts. Runner Up - Ally Woytas 17pts.

C Grade

Winner – Pamela Charles 19pts. Runner Up – Cheryl Sprattling 16pts.

D Grade

Winner – Helen McKernan 13 pts c/b. Runner Up – Marg Evans 13pts.

NTP A&B Grades – Alice Duncan.

NTP C&D Grades – Marg Evans.

Wednesday, February 8 – Stroke – 40 Players. A Grade

Winner – Marg Walker 33 nett. Runner Up – Jenny Gonera 36 nett.

B Grade

Winner – Paddy White 36 nett c/b. Runner Up – Cherry Gorman 36 nett.

C Grade

Winner – Helen McKernan 30 nett. Runner Up – Jenny Powell 37 nett.

D Grade

Winner – Lorraine Duffy 36 nett. Runner Up – Marg Irvine 39 nett.

YMGCR Mens Nine Holers

Tuesday saw the first round of the prestigiou­s Stan Clarke Perpetual Trophy played over 2 days.

Competitio­n was fierce among the pairs and it was the two H’s, Hocking and Hackett, who led the field in the first round on a countback with 25 points to pip Gary Tribe and Joe Cilia. Thanks to two Nearest the Pins from inform Ron Hocking.

Following close behind was the pairing of Bill Wyatt and new member George Plumb on 24 with Dom Fotia and Kerry Pendergast and the pairing of Artie Massey and Dave Murray coming close on 23 points, with balls going to 22 points.

The second round was again hotly contested and Charlie Hope and Digger Dunne held off a stiff challenge from Bill Gorman and John Gonera to take the day with a superb 26 points winning on a countback to once again prove the adage that every Putt counts.

With Stan Clarke watching via Chinese CCTV from balloon footage from the sidelines, the excitement built as Dave Murray and Artie Massey blazed the last 4 holes of the course finishing with 25 points to edge the H pairing of Tom Hackett and Ron Hocking on 23.

With more than several teams finishing on the same overall score the winner was decided on countback, and will be announced at the end of the year presentati­on.

With ball prizes going to 22 it was a good day out. Kindly note Subs are due and payable now.

Thank you.

Tuesday, February 7 – Stableford - 4bbb – 72 Players. 1st round Stan Clarke Perpetual Trophy Blue

Winners - Ron Hocking /Tom Hackett (8/9) 25 c/b. Runner Up - Gary Tribe / Joe Cilia (18/16) 25.

NTP 2nd Blue - Ron Hocking.

NTP 4TH Blue - Ron Hocking.

NTP 6th Blue - Dave Murray.

NTP 7th Blue – club.

Thursday, February 9 - Stableford - 4BBB – 64 Players.

2nd round Stan Clarke Perpetual Trophy Blue

Winners - Charles Hope/Digger Dunne (12/13) 26 c/b. Runner Up - Bill Gorman /John Gonera (16/10) 26.

NTP 2nd Blue - Terry Murphy.

NTP 4TH Blue - Bill Gorman.

NTP 6th Blue - Terry Strickland.

NTP 7th Blue - Glen Perkins.

YMGCR Ladies 18 hole golf

Great to see so many members back on the fabulous courses. Some magnificen­t scores across the different games, will have handicaps dropping! Congratula­tions to all ladies who continue to play as the days get warmer.

Wednesday, February 8 - Lake - Stableford - 73 entrants.

A Grade winner - Dee Payne (19) with 36 points from Christine Perus (19) on 34 points. B Grade winner - the amazing Anne Quinn (22) with an outstandin­g 42points from an equally great scoring Maree Old with 39. C Grade winner - Jan Hemphill (30) with a fabulous 39points from Raelene Davis (30) with 34 points.

D Grade winner - Janine Walker(38) with and even 36 points from Carol Tytler on 34. Nearest the Pin on the 7th was Dee Payne.

Balls to 30 points.

Friday, February 10 - Lake - Par - 21 entrants

A few less players but plenty of determinat­ion. Overall winners - Kerry’s Eade (36) with a super 3+ from hard hitting Helen Archer (20) with +1. Nearest the pin 7th hole, evergreen Anna Castles.

Balls -1 or better.

Saturday, February 11 - Murray - Stableford - 56 entrants.

The weather warmed things up finally in this last summer month, a reminder to keep yourselves hydrated and cool throughout.

A Grade winner - in form Judy Leeson (17) with a lovely 39 points from Kaye Rourke (21) with a satisfying 38!

B Grade winners - Noelle Stone (32) with 35 points from Olivia Ng (30)with 34 C/B. Nearest the pin 10th hole, smiling sweetly, Kirri Davis Balls you needed 31 points.

Congratula­tions to everyone out on the course and many thanks to men and women who continue to present it beautifull­y. Good hitting to all playing in the February medal on Wednesday 15. Cheers!

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia