Yarrawonga Chronicle



YMGCR Ladies Nine Hole Golf Monday, April 10 – Stableford – 27 Players. A Grade

Winner – Rhonda McKenzie 19pts. Runner Up – Marg Rogers 18pts.

B Grade

Winner – Cherry Gorman 23pts. Runner Up – Mary Mansfield 19pts c/b.

C Grade

Winner – Michelle Church 19pts. Runner Up – Carol Cox 14pts c/b.

NTP C+D Grades – Cathy Borg.

No play Wednesday due to rain.

YMGCR Mens Nine Holers

Tuesday was the first round of the Merv Stuart Memorial played in glorious conditions and on the Blue Ross Watson scored a solid 21 points to edge runner up on the day Rod Newman by a point.

Ian Pritchard and John Hutchinson (19) came close and a 4 way countback led by intrepid traveller Lance Walsh ahead of Ribs Reimers, Brian Sanders and Graeme Lavis with ball going to 17 on countback.

On the Red Paul "Ambo" Byrne led a 4 way countback with a hard earned 16 from John Traunini, Phil Latham and Neil Loveridge with balls going to 13 on countback.

Thursday’s second round saw Vic Brincat win the day and put one hand on the trophy with a fine 22 points, with Warwick Sellars (21) and Paul Byrne (20) and Terry Strickland (18) also getting fingertips on the cup with balls going to 16.

On the Red Geoff Burgess finally lost his bridesmaid dress and scored 7 pars in his round of 21 to lead the field by 3 points from Norm Coleman (18) and Lance Walsh (17).

Norm Prior led a 3-way countback on 16 from Dave Hall and Glenn "oddjob" Perkins with ball prizes going to 15.

The winner of the Merv Stuart trophy will be announced at the Presentati­on Day in December. Please note - Subs are now overdue. Tuesday, April 11 - Stableford – 71 Players. Merv Stuart Memorial Trophy - 1st round Blue

Winner - Ross Watson (12) 21. Runner Up - Rod Newman (15) 20.


Winner - Paul Byrne (10) 16 c/b. Runner Up - John Traunini (10) 16.

NTP 4th BLUE - Rod Newman.

NTP 8TH BLUE - Clubber Lang.

NTP 2nd RED - Peter Dowie.

NTP 7th Red - Rod Sissons.

Thursday, April 13 - Stableford – 71 Players.

Merv Stuart Memorial Trophy - 2nd round.


Winner - Vic Brincat (18) 22. Runner Up - Warwick Sellars (12) 21.


Winner - Geoff Burgess (8) 21. Runner Up - Norm Coleman (6) 18.

NTP 4th BLUE - Terry Murphy.

NTP 8TH BLUE - John Traunini.

NTP 2nd Red - Bomber Mitchell.

NTP 7th Red - Ian Barton.

YMGCR Ladies 18 Hole Golf

Wednesday, April, 12 - Lake Course 4BBB.

Winners Jo McCarthy and Karen Price with a fabulous 45 points, on a countback from Chez Edwards and Janine Walker 45 points.

Runners up Chris Geary and Elizabeth O’Dwyer with 44 points on a countback from Louise Cross and Kirri Davis.

Great scoring in such wet and rainy conditions! Balls to 37 points.

Winners of the Wilkinson Final played on the same day - Jo Ryan and Maree Old. Huge congratula­tions to Dot Ringholt who had to play solo and took them to the 15th hole.

Saturday, April 15 - Murray Course A Grade - Winner - Kirri Davis (6) with 36 points on a countback from Kathy Overington (17).

B Grade Winner - Judi Lawrance (34) with a wonderful 40 points. Runner Up Mary Hockley (34) with 39 points.

Nearest the Pin 2nd Hole - Dee Payne. Nearest the Pin 14th Hole - Helen Archer Balls to 31 points.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Australia