Business Bhutan

Seven women candidates of ten elected

- Staff Reporter from Thimphu

The general elections this year would be best remembered as one where more women political candidates have been elected for the first time in the country.

Out of 10 women candidates in 2008, four were elected and three women candidates out of 11 made it to the National Assembly in 2013. However, Bhutan elected seven women candidates this time. And some following the elections closely have already started describing the outcome as a big win for the women politician­s.

All the women candidates representi­ng the Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) have been elected from their respective constituen­cies in the elections on Thursday.

DNT’s candidate from North Thimphu constituen­cy Dechen Wangmo, 42, beat Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT)’s candidate

Lily Wanggchuk after securing more than 174 votes compared to the latter. The public health specialist received a total of 2,276 votes, while Lily Wanggchuk got a total of 2,102 votes.

The North Thimphu constituen­cy was also the only constituen­cy where both parties were represente­d by female candidates.

And in a massive victory, DNT’s candidate Tshewang Lhamo won from Bongo-Chapchha constituen­cy in Chhukha after securing a whooping 6,632 votes against DPT candidate Pempa, who got 3,479 votes.

36-year-old Tshewang Lhamo earlier also served as the member of the National Council from 2008 till 2013.

Similarly, it was another major feat in terms of vote wise for DNT’s candidate Dil Maya Rai. The 45-year-old won from Tashichhoe­ling constituen­cy in Samtse with a whopping 6,032 votes against DPT Durga Prasad’s 3,449 votes. DIl Maya Rai is a social developmen­t specialist by profession.

DNT’s candidate Dorjee Wangmo also won from Sangbaykha constituen­cy in Haa after securing a total of 1,536 votes against 857 votes secured by DPT’s Tshewang Rinzin. The 29-year-old worked as an ICT officer before joining politics.

And the youngest female candidate representi­ng DNT from Khamaed-Lunana constituen­cy in Gasa, Yeshey Dem, 25, also won after securing a total of 419 votes against DPT’s Dhendup, who got a total of 361 votes. Yeshey Dem worked as a public relations assistant prior to joining DNT.

Meanwhile, only two were elected this time from the five women candidates representi­ng DPT.

DPT’s women candidate Tshering Choden was elected from Khar-Yurung constituen­cy in Pemagatshe­l after securing a whopping 4,738 votes against DNT’s Ugyen Tshewang, who got 2,045 votes. An educationi­st by profession, Tshering Choden was earlier a candidate of People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the 2013 elections. She joined DPT in place of MP Zangley Dukpa for the 2018 elections.

Similarly, DPT’s candidate Norbu Wangzom won from Jomotshang­kha-Martshala constituen­cy in Samdrup Jongkhar after getting a total of 4,372 votes against DNT candidate Ugyen Dorji, who got 3,547 votes.

Norbu Wangzom was a Member of Parliament when DPT won the first general elections in 2008. However, she lost in the 2013 elections and was reportedly away from politics and engaged with her family.

Meanwhile, DPT’s Karma Lhamo from Monggar constituen­cy in Monggar lost to DNT’s Sherub Gyeltshen after getting 77 votes less than her opponent. Karma Lhamo got a total of 3,686 votes, while her opponent bagged a total of 3,763 votes.

Similarly, DPT’s Lila Pradhan from Ugyentse Yoeseltse constituen­cy in Samtse lost to DNT’s Dinesh Kumar Pradhan. While she got a total of 2,054 votes, her opponent secured a whopping 5,353 votes.

 ??  ?? Dil Maya Rai Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
Dil Maya Rai Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Tshewang Lhamo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
Tshewang Lhamo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Dorjee Wangmo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
Dorjee Wangmo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Yeshey Dem Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
Yeshey Dem Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Dechen Wangmo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
Dechen Wangmo Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Tshering Choden Druk Phuensum Tshogpa
Tshering Choden Druk Phuensum Tshogpa
 ??  ?? Norbu Wangzom Druk Phuensum Tshogpa
Norbu Wangzom Druk Phuensum Tshogpa

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Bhutan