Calgary Herald - - SPORTS -

Teenage mid­fielder Alphonso Davies has be­come the youngest win­ner of the Cana­dian Men’s Soc­cer Player of the Year Award. Davies was cho­sen in vot­ing by Cana­dian coaches and me­dia. Be­sik­tas mid­fielder Atiba Hutchin­son, who won the award in each of the last four years, was run­ner-up, with Toronto FC mid­fielder Jonathan Os­o­rio third. Davies, the for­mer Van­cou­ver White­caps star who turned 18 in Novem­ber, is now with Bay­ern Mu­nich thanks to a record-break­ing US$22-mil­lion trans­fer deal that will keep him with the Ger­man pow­er­house through 2023. The pre­vi­ous youngest men’s win­ners were Simeon Jack­son and Jim Bren­nan, who were 22 when they won in 2009 and 1999, re­spec­tively. Mean­while, Chris­tine Sin­clair was 17 when she won the women’s award for the first time in 2000.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.