Cal­gary writer awarded W.O. Mitchell Book Prize

Calgary Herald - - CITY+REGION - ERIC VOLMERS evolmers@post­

Cal­gary writer Sharon Bu­tala’s short-story col­lec­tion, Sea­son of Fury and Won­der, has won the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize.

The award comes with a $5,000 prize. It was an­nounced on­line Mon­day by the City of Cal­gary as part of the 2019 Cal­gary Awards.

Bu­tala’s short-story col­lec­tion fo­cuses on the lives of older women. The book was also a fi­nal­ist for the 2019 Rogers Writ­ers’ Trust Award for Fic­tion. Bu­tala is a three-time Gov­er­nor Gen­eral’s Lit­er­ary Award nom­i­nee.

Sea­son of Fury and Won­der was orig­i­nally pub­lished by Saskatchew­an-based Coteau Books. Cal­gary’s Free­hand Books ac­quired the rights to the ti­tle af­ter Coteau closed and will re­lease a new edi­tion in July.

The other 2019 fi­nal­ists for the Mitchell award were Naomi K. Lewis for her mem­oir Tiny Lights for Trav­ellers and Teresa Wong’s graphic mem­oir Dear Scar­let: The Story of my Post­par­tum De­pres­sion.

The City of Cal­gary’s W.O. Mitchell Book Prize was es­tab­lished in 1996 in hon­our of the Cal­gary writer. Mitchell is best known for nov­els such as 1947’s Who Has Seen the Wind and for his weekly ra­dio series Jake and the Kid, which later be­came a CBC tele­vi­sion series.

He died in 1998.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.