Canada's History : 2020-08-01

BOOKS : 58 : 58


Bruce MacLellan Michael Rea, Chair Sharon McAuley Tim Cook Sasha Mullally Michèle Dagenais Stephen Thomas Edward Kennedy William Wicken Michèle Leduc NATIONAL ADVISORY COUNCIL Gillian Manning E. James Arnett Ry Moran A. Charles Baillie Don Newman J. Douglas Barrington Richard W. Pound W. John Bennett Telephone operators in High River, Alberta, wear masks during the influenza epidemic of 1918–20. In 2020, Canadians are again wearing masks — this time to stop the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 virus. H. Sanford Riley Mark S. Bonham Thomas H.B. Symons Elsa Franklin Jane Urquhart Charlotte Gray Greg Wong John Honderich MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIR FOUNDING PUBLISHER PRESIDENT EMERITUS Rolph Huband (1929-2016) Joe Martin PRESIDENT & CEO Janet Walker Canada’s History Society was founded in 1994 to popularize Canadian history. The Society’s work includes Canada’s History Kayak: Canada’s History Magazine for Kids, magazine, CanadasHis­, and the Governor General’s History Awards. The Hudson’s Bay Company History Foundation is the history society’s founding patron. It remains our largest private donor, providing an annual grant essential to supporting the delivery of our programs. On the Cover: Clockwise from top left: The April-May 2020 issue of Canada’s History; Yukiko Stranger-Galey and Derek Tan of the Beaty Biodiversi­ty Museum accept the Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Museums: History Alive! from Her Excellency, the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada; the February-March 2020 issue of Canada’s History; 2019 Young Citizen Jonathan Lavalley; the February 2020 issue of Kayak; Governor General’s History Award recipients and youth award recipients gather for a gala celebratio­n in Gatineau, Quebec; Governor General’s History Award for Popular Media: the Pierre Berton Award winner Sylvia D. Hamilton, right, speaks at the Canada’s History Forum in Gatineau, Quebec. CANADASHIS­TORY.CA ANNUAL REPORT 2019-2020