Foun­da­tion Up­date

Thanks to you, the artists, col­lec­tors, cu­ra­tors, deal­ers, sub­scribers, donors and en­thu­si­asts who sup­port the Inuit Art Foun­da­tion, Inuit art con­tin­ues to be strength­ened and cel­e­brated across Canada and in­ter­na­tion­ally.

Inuit Art Quarterly - - CONTENTS - Fol­low us on Twit­ter: @Inu­itArtFdn Like us on Face­book: Inuit Art Foun­da­tion Fol­low us on In­sta­gram: inu­itart­foun­da­tion

Sup­port­ing Artis­tic Dreams: The Keno­juak Ashe­vak Me­mo­rial Award

The in­au­gu­ral Keno­juak Ashe­vak Me­mo­rial Award was awarded to Laakku­luk Wil­liamson Bathory at a spe­cial cer­e­mony at the Art Gallery of On­tario, just prior to the pub­lic open­ing of Tu­nir­ru­sian­git. Found­ing donors John and Joyce Price pre­sented Laakku­luk with the award, along­side IAF Pres­i­dent Mathew Nuqin­gaq and sur­rounded by mem­bers of the Inuit art com­mu­nity. “Keno­juak Ashe­vak re­ally opened new realms of imag­i­na­tion and new realms that al­lowed peo­ple to see them­selves and show them­selves at the same time,” Laakku­luk said in ac­cept­ing the award. “And, it is over­whelm­ing for me to think her spirit is touching mine so closely, or be­ing near to mine. I am so grate­ful and hum­bled to be in this huge spirit of art.” The Prices also an­nounced that they, along with sup­porter Erik Haites, will be match­ing do­na­tions made to the Keno­juak Ashe­vak Me­mo­rial Fund to help con­tinue the award in per­pe­tu­ity.

Thank you to ev­ery­one who was able to at­tend this spe­cial event and thank you to the donors who sup­port this award: John and Joyce Price, Erik Haites, Christo­pher Bredt and Jamie Cameron, David Burns, François Du­maine,

Ginette Du­mouchel, Carol Ann El­lett,

Pa­tri­cia Fe­he­ley, Dale Hor­witz,

Rawl­son O’Neil King, A.B. Kliefoth,

Val Lem, Maija Lutz, David and Liz Mac­don­ald, Paul Mach­nik, Cather­ine Mad­sen, Mar­cia Miller, Kathryn Mi­nard, Suzanne Nash, Ann Sprayre­gen, and three anony­mous donors.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.