National Post (Latest Edition)


- Postmedia News

The shortlist for the 2021 Scotiabank Giller Prize — the biggest prize in Canadian literature — has been revealed. Books by Miriam Toews, Omar El Akkad, Angélique Lalonde, Cheluchi Onyemelukw­e-onuobia and Jordan Tannahill are all up for the $100,000 award. Toews, shown, is a finalist for Fight Night, and was previously a nominee for A Complicate­d Kindness in 2004 and for All My Puny Sorrows in 2014. Fight Night is also a finalist for the 2021 Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. The other authors are first-time finalists. Tannahill is nominated for The Listeners, Lalonde is up for Glorious Frazzled Beings, Onyemelukw­e-onuobia is nominated for The Son of the House and El Akkad is recognized for What Strange Paradise. The winner will be announced Nov. 8.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada