Vot­ers make their choice in two di­vi­sions in R.M. of Swift Cur­rent

Prairie Post (East Edition) - - Swift Current - BY MATTHEW LIEBENBERG — mlieben­berg@prairiepos­t.com

There will be two new faces around the ta­ble at the next R.M. of Swift Cur­rent No. 137 coun­cil meet­ing on Nov. 6 as a re­sult of the re­cent mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions.

The 2018 mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions in Saskatchew­an ru­ral mu­nic­i­pal­i­ties took place on Oct. 24. This year's elec­tions were held for coun­cil­lors rep­re­sent­ing even-num­bered di­vi­sions in ru­ral mu­nic­i­pal­i­ties.

In the R.M. of Swift Cur­rent the vot­ers in Divi­sion No. 4 and 6 went to the polls. There were three can­di­dates in Divi­sion No. 4, but vot­ers fo­cused their sup­port on two in­di­vid­u­als. Jim Cadrain re­ceived 59 votes to de­feat in­cum­bent Mark Care­foot, who re­ceived 51 votes. The third can­di­date, Keith Pry­tula, re­ceived no votes.

Two can­di­dates stood for elec­tion in Divi­sion No. 6. In­cum­bent Gale Ner­ada was re-elected with sup­port from 23 vot­ers and his op­po­nent Aaron Tait re­ceived 18 votes.

There was a sin­gle can­di­date in the other even-num­bered divi­sion and in­cum­bent Phillip Wall was there­fore elected by ac­cla­ma­tion in Divi­sion No. 2.

There will be a new coun­cil­lor for Divi­sion No. 5 at the next coun­cil meet­ing. This divi­sion seat be­came va­cant ear­lier this year af­ter the res­ig­na­tion of Ken Do­erk­sen as coun­cil­lor. Coun­cil de­cided at a reg­u­lar meet­ing in March to leave that po­si­tion va­cant un­til the mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions in the fall. Michael (Butch) Ger­ing was nom­i­nated for the va­cant seat and he was un­op­posed.

In the R.M. of Maple Creek No. 111 vot­ing only took place in Divi­sion No. 6. Ri­ley Huery is newly elected with 15 votes against nine votes for Doug David­son. Can­di­dates in the other di­vi­sions won by ac­cla­ma­tion. Charles Par­son­age (Divi­sion No. 2) and Shawn Kramer (Divi­sion No. 8) were re-elected and Wade Wasilow (Divi­sion No. 4) was newly elected.

The can­di­dates in the R.M. of Gull Lake No. 139 were ac­claimed. Pa­trick Simp­son (Divi­sion No. 2) and Ja­son Craig (Divi­sion No. 6) were re-elected and Rob Toney (Divi­sion No. 4) was newly elected.

There were no elec­tions in most other ru­ral mu­nic­i­pal­i­ties in south­west Saskatchew­an, where can­di­dates were un­op­posed and there­fore ac­claimed. All the elec­tion re­sults from the 2018 ru­ral mu­nic­i­pal elec­tion are avail­able on the Saskatchew­an As­so­ci­a­tion of Ru­ral Mu­nic­i­pal­i­ties web­site at http://elec­tions.sarm.ca

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.