Prairie Post (East Edition)

Ballot finalized in Medicine Hat-CardstonWa­rner; Bow River, each with six candidates

- By Scott Schmidt Alberta Newspaper group

Ballots in Southern Alberta will have six names in the coming Sept. 20 federal election.

An official list published on Wednesday morning by Elections Canada show that Green Party and New Democratic Party of Canada have nominated candidates to contest the election in Medicine Hat-Cardston-Warner.

They join previously announced candidates in filing official paperwork by the Aug. 30 deadline.

— Diandra Bruised Head, a Kainai Nation band council

lor, will represent the Green Party.

— Jocelyn Stenger, who is based in Edmonton and previously worked in a provincial constituen­cy office, is the federal New Democratic candidate.

— Incumbent candidate Glen Motz retained his nomination with the Conservati­ves having won the seat in a 2019 general election.

Hannah Wilson, an Alberta native who worked in the office of Finance Minister Crystia Freeland, was acclaimed as the Liberal Candidate on Aug. 18.

— Geoff Shoesmith, a business owner from Walsh, Alta., is

the Maverick Party candidate.

— Brodie Heidinger, a Medicine Hat insurance agent, is

representi­ng the People’s Party of Canada. Advanced voting is set to take place from Friday, Sept. 10 to Monday, Sept. 13 at to-be-announced locations in the riding, or at the Elections Canada Office at any point before Sept. 14 using a special ballot.

Mail-in ballots must be requested by 4 p.m. local time on Sept. 14.

In other southeast Alberta constituen­cies, Bow River constituen­cy (County of Newell region) Orrin Bliss, Maverick Party; Jonathan Bridges, People’s Party of Canada; Michael MacLean, New Democratic Party; Getu Shawile, Liberal Party of Canada; Martin Shields, Conservati­ve Party of Canada.

In Battle River--Crowfoot (Oyen): Daniel Brisbin, Green Party of Canada; Jeff Golka, Maverick Party; John Irwin, Veterans Coalition Party of Canada; Damien Kurek, Conservati­ve Party of Canada; Leah Diane McLeod, Liberal Party of Canada; Tonya Ratushniak, New Democratic Party and Dennis Trepanier, People’s Party of


 ??  ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada