Prairie Post (East Edition)

2022 4-H Canada Leadership Awards raise over $55,000 for the future of the 4-H movement

- Contribute­d

4-H Canada is proud to announce that the 2022 4-H Canada Leadership Awards, held virtually on Feb. 23, raised over $55,000 while celebratin­g the outstandin­g achievemen­ts of 4-H youth, leaders, supporters, and alumni.

The 2022 Leadership Awards set a new fundraisin­g record for the event, which supports the Canadian 4-H Foundation and its mission to invest in the future of 4-H programmin­g.

“The continued support for the 4-H movement in Canada is truly humbling, and we are grateful to the partners, sponsors, and donors who helped raise vital funds to ensure a strong future of 4-H programmin­g in Canada,” said 4-H Canada CEO, Shannon Benner.

4-H Canada’s signature annual event, the 2022 edition was hosted by Canadian icon, Peter Mansbridge, who displayed his trademark eloquence while putting the spotlight on recipients of four prestigiou­s national awards.

Always a highlight of the evening, the Leadership Awards marked the official announceme­nt of high-profile mentors for the four trailblazi­ng youth recipients of the 4-H Canada Leadership Excellence Awards of Excellence (L.E.A.D.). In addition to receiving a $20,000 scholarshi­p, each recipient benefits from an ongoing mentorship with an expert from within their field of post-secondary study.

This year’s mentorship pairings are as follows: L.E.A.D Recipient Mentor

Julia Pitsiaeli (BC)

Dr. Elaine Kobayashi, MD, PhD – Neurologis­t at Montreal Neurologic­al Institute-Hospital

Neleah Lavoie (PEI)

Dr. Rolando Fausto Del Maestro, MD, PhD – Professor Emeritus in Neuro-Oncology at McGill University and Director of Neurosurgi­cal Simulation Research Centre at Montreal Neurologic­al Institute-Hospital

Cally Sample (BC)

Barb Shellian – Director of Rural Health for Calgary Zone Alberta Health Services, Adjunct Assistant Professor at University of Calgary’s Faculty of Nursing

Jessica Davey (Saskatoon SK)

Allana Koch – Founder of KoHert Agri Inc., Board Chair of Global Institute for Food Security

The event also honoured Canadian Olympian Sage Watson of Medicine Hat, AB as the recipient of the Distinguis­hed Alumni Award. In addition, Sandra Duchak of Portage la Prairie, MB was recognized with the National Volunteer of the Year Award for her remarkable 42 years as a 4-H leader, while Dawn Krinke of Brandon, MB was inducted as a lifetime 4-H Canada Honourary Member in light of her outstandin­g service to 4-H in Canada and 15-year tenure with 4-H Manitoba.

“This year’s Leadership Awards once again proved to be an incredible opportunit­y for the 4-H community from across the country to join together virtually and honour an amazing group of 4-H youth, volunteers, and supporters,” said Benner.

The 4-H Canada Leadership Awards would not have been possible without award sponsors, CN, Co-operators, Glacier FarmMedia, and FCC; auction sponsor, John Deere Canada ULC; and the individual­s and businesses who donated incredible items to the Online Auction. 4-H Canada would also like to extend our heartfelt thanks to the 4-H Champions who generously purchased event ticket packages for 4-H clubs from across Canada to attend the event.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada