Prairie Post (East Edition)

Smith announces new cabinet last week


“I am thrilled to being working with this strong, determined, united group of MLAs. Alberta’s future is bright – but there’s a lot of work to be done. Our team will work every day to gain your trust, make bold changes and continue to build the most innovative, entreprene­urial and welcoming province in the world. I want to thank our entire team for their tireless dedication to Albertans and we’re looking forward to the days ahead.”

Premier of Alberta

Caucus leadership positions will include:

• Whip (Minister without portfolio) – Brad Rutherford

• House Leader (Minister without portfolio) – Joseph Schow

• Deputy House Leaders – Kaycee Madu, Mickey Amery, David Hanson

Ministers will be assisted in their work by the following parliament­ary secretarie­s:

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Ukrainian Refugee Settlement – Jackie Armstrong-Homeniuk

• Parliament­ary Secretary for EMS Reform – RJ Sigurdson

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Rural Health – Tany Yao

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Economic Corridors – Shane Getson

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Tourism – Miranda Rosin

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Agrifood Developmen­t – Glenn van Dijken

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Multicultu­ralism – Devinder Toor

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Status of Women – Tanya Fir

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Community Outreach – Muhammad Yaseen

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Procuremen­t Transforma­tion – David Hanson

• Parliament­ary Secretary for Small Business – Martin Long New government committees will be chaired by:

• Economy and Affordabil­ity Cabinet Policy Committee – Jason Nixon

• Alberta First Cabinet Policy Committee – Garth Rowswell

• Social Services Cabinet Policy Committee – Searle Turton

• Building Communitie­s Cabinet Policy Committee – Pat Rehn

• Legislativ­e Review Committee Chair – Jason Stephan Treasury Board members will include:

• Travis Toews

• Matt Jones

• Nate Glubish

• Rebecca Schulz

• Devin Dreeshen

• Jordan Walker

• Rick Wilson

• Nathan Neudorf

• Pete Guthrie

Cabinet members will be sworn in on the morning of Monday, Oct. 24 at 11 a.m. and will then begin receiving briefings from their department­s.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada