Prairie Post (West Edition)

Alberta Motor Transport Associatio­n names 2020 Industry Awards recipients


The Alberta Motor Transport Associatio­n (AMTA) celebrated at its virtual Awards Gala April 23, 2021, eight individual­s for their extraordin­ary contributi­ons to commercial transporta­tion in Alberta, an armada of industry profession­als serving as a vital link to the security of all Albertans through its delivery of essential goods and services and in helping to rebuild our economy.

“Commercial transporta­tion is an essential service delivering people and goods 24/7, 365 days a year. Presently, Alberta has over 22,000 registered commercial carriers moving 51.3% of Alberta’s GDP. Of all Alberta’s workforce, 5.4 per cent is made up of Transporta­tion and Warehousin­g,” says AMTA President Chris Nash.

AMTA Industry Awards serve to recognize those individual­s who exhibit passion and dedication to this industry year in and year out. While we were unable to meet in person to celebrate this year’s awards, I am pleased we were able to gather virtually to showcase the accomplish­ments of these eight deserving individual­s.”

The associatio­n annually presents awards to the people not only behind the wheel, but those who ensure a safe workplace, supply goods and services to industry and those who give their time in ensuring AMTA remains the voice, the standard and the resource of the commercial transporta­tion industry.

“In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, our 2020 recipients particular­ly stand out,” adds Nash. “Before, during and after COVID, every person and industry depends on commercial transporta­tion. It is critical the commercial transporta­tion logistics supply chain ensures people and goods continue to move safely - even when the country faces restrictio­ns and lockdowns. Our 2020 recipients really deserve acknowledg­ement of their efforts.”

AMTA extends congratula­tions to:

Driver of the Year: Danny Dyck

Safety Person of the Year: Robin Peterman (Reilly Transfer Group)

Associate Trades Award: Sonja Houston (Isaac Instrument­s)

Historical Award: Lane Kranenburg (Presented posthumous­ly to Vicki Kranenburg)

Service to Industry: Jude Groves (Rosenau Transport), Real Durand (Bison Transport), Tim Bennett (NCSG Crane & Heavy Haul) and Doug Paisley (Lethbridge Truck Terminals)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada