May­field blitzes field for AP foot­ball award

Regina Leader-Post - - SPORTS -

Baker May­field is The As­so­ci­ated Press col­lege foot­ball Player of the Year, be­com­ing the fourth Ok­la­homa quar­ter­back to win the award since it was es­tab­lished in 1998. May­field, the Heis­man Tro­phy favourite, eas­ily out­pointed Stan­ford run­ning back Bryce Love, who came in sec­ond. Louisville quar­ter­back La­mar Jack­son, the other fi­nal­ist and last year’s Heis­man win­ner, was third. May­field, Love and Jack­son are also the fi­nal­ists for the Heis­man, which will be handed out Satur­day night in New York.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.