Easy, breezy al­fresco reads

Hot spring books from Toronto writ­ers ideal for the beach, cot­tage or front porch

Richmond Hill Post - - Books - by Ron John­son

There are three easy rea­sons to find that per­fect book this time of year: front porch, beach and cot­tage. As some flock to out­door pa­tios as soon as the snow melts, oth­ers just want to sit out­side with a good book. And there is noth­ing wrong with that. Here­with, a cool dozen to get you started.

THE TASTEMAK­ERS, DAVID SAX MCCLEL­LAND & STE­WART, $29.95

Foodie cul­ture is alive in Toronto, but the trends are be­wil­der­ing. Au­thor David Sax goes be­hind the scenes to find out why we love ba­con but could do with­out the fon­due.

FROG MU­SIC, EMMA DONOGHUE HARPERCOLL­INS, $29.99

The fol­low-up to Donoghue’s 2010 novel Room, Frog Mu­sic is a re­turn to his­tor­i­cal fic­tion cen­tring on an un­solved mur­der of Jenny Bon­net in 1876 San Fran­cisco.

THE PESC­ETAR­IAN PLAN, JA­NIS JIB­RIN BAL­LAN­TINE BOOKS, $31

Want to get a han­dle on your health and maybe lose those love han­dles at the same time? A veg­e­tar­ian and seafood diet might be just the best way to eat on the planet.

ALL MY PUNY SOR­ROWS, MIRIAM TOEWS KNOPF CANADA, $29.95

Toews’s lat­est is a riv­et­ing story of two sis­ters, El­frieda and Yoli. One has it all but is try­ing to kill her­self, the other is a mess but fights for her beloved sis­ter.

LIS­TEN TO THE SQUAWK­ING CHICKEN ELAINE LUI, RAN­DOM HOUSE, $27.95

Known best as the coun­try’s leading gos­sip colum­nist and co-host of TV show The So­cial, Elaine Lui’s first book, a mem­oir, is un­ex­pected. And that’s al­ways a good thing.

THE CON­FAB­U­LIST, STEVEN GALLOWAY KNOPF CANADA, $29.95

Who doesn’t love a good Hou­dini story? Galloway’s fol­low-up to The Cel­list of Sara­jevo deals with the fa­mous ma­gi­cian’s mys­te­ri­ous death in this in­trigu­ing tale.

UP, UP, & AWAY, JONAH KERI RAN­DOM HOUSE, $32

A se­nior writer at Grant­land, Keri ex­plores the his­tory of the Mon­treal Ex­pos base­ball team on the 10th an­niver­sary of the team de­camp­ing for Wash­ing­ton.

REA­SONS MY KID IS CRY­ING, GREG PEM­BROKE THREE RIVERS PRESS, $18

An­other blog-to-book suc­cess story, in

Rea­sons My Kid Is Cry­ing, Pem­broke gives a fun and ther­a­peu­tic take on the tri­als and tribu­la­tions of par­ent­ing.

BUON AP­PETITO TORONTO!, ITAL­IAN CHAM­BER OF COM­MERCE, TONY AS­PLER, $30

Post City’s wine critic, Tony As­pler, pro­vides a culi­nary his­tory that out­lines how Ital­ian food cul­ture evolved in the city, il­lus­trat­ing the people, places and dishes that al­lowed it to flour­ish.

NO RE­LA­TION, TERRY FAL­LIS MCCLEL­LAND & STE­WART, $22.95

Fal­lis is a top-notch hu­mourist best known for his de­but novel The Best Laid Plans, made into a CBC-TV minis­eries. In his fourth novel, Fal­lis takes on the fame game.

CLAU­DINE, BAR­BARA PALMER PEN­GUIN, $20

An “elite call girl with an in­ter­na­tional pro­file”? Sounds like pool­side read­ing to us. For fans of E. L. James, Bar­bara Palmer gives us the erotic tale of Clau­dine. Read­ers, gird your loins.

BASED ON A TRUE STORY, EL­IZ­A­BETH REN­ZETTI HOUSE OF ANANSI, $19.95

Well-known Globe and Mail colum­nist El­iz­a­beth Ren­zetti’s de­but novel is a satir­i­cal look at celebrity cul­ture and jour­nal­ism. We are in­trigued.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.