Golf Saskatchew­an Rule of the Week

The Southwest Booster - - SPORTS -

Con­tin­u­ous Putting - is it a Rule? Ques­tion: Are you en­ti­tled to “ fin­ish out” the hole if you have played and only have a tap in left? What is the penalty if you fin­ish out of turn?

An­swer: The an­swer is pro­vided in Rule 10-1c for match play and Rule 10-2c for stroke play.

There is no penalty in ei­ther form of play if a player plays out of turn. How­ever, when a player has played out of turn in match play, the op­po­nent may im­me­di­ately re­call the stroke played and re­quire the player to play in the cor­rect or­der.

Ad­di­tion­ally, in stroke play only, a player who is re­quired to lift a ball un­der Rule 22, may play first rather than lift.

This is the prac­tice of­ten seen used by the pro­fes­sion­als which leads to the gen­eral mis­un­der­stand­ing that a “con­tin­u­ous putting” rule ex­ists.

For reg­u­lar play in or­der to keep the “Pace of Play”, Golf Saskatchew­an highly en­cour­ages the use of Con­tin­u­ous Putting.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.