Golf Saskatchew­an rule of the week

The Southwest Booster - - FRONT PAGE -

Rule 4-3 Club bro­ken after slam­ming in anger

SIT­U­A­TION and QUES­TION:

Dave is strug­gling on the course to­day. He hits an­other er­rant tee shot and in a fit of anger bends his driver as a re­sult of in­ten­tion­ally slam­ming it on the ground in anger re­peat­edly. Fi­nally, in his last act of rag­ing, throws the club 30 yards into the pond. May the player re­place the dam­aged club be­fore the com­ple­tion of the stip­u­lated round?

AN­SWER:

No. As Dave’s club was dam­aged other than in the nor­mal course of play, it may not be re­placed dur­ing the round.

Dave should take a long look at him­self in the mir­ror and ask if his be­hav­ior was ap­pro­pri­ate on the golf course. Ad­di­tion­ally, at any Pro­vin­cial/na­tional golf cham­pi­onship, Dave’s day and tour­na­ment would most likely be fin­ished. Keep calm and carry on. Re­minder…. Golf is a dif­fi­cult game!

For ad­di­tional in­for­ma­tion please see also De­ci­sion 4-3/1, De­ci­sion 4-3/7 and De­ci­sion 4-3/9.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.