Mac­quar­rie wins PH coun­cil seat

The Casket - - Local -

So­cial worker Blaine Mac­quar­rie is the new coun­cil­lor for the Town of Port Hawkes­bury.

He won a four-way race for the va­cant seat in a Dec. 15 spe­cial elec­tion.

In the un­of­fi­cial re­sults, Mac­quar­rie fin­ished with 476 votes, fol­lowed by Dave Ryan (359), Michele Taben­sky (289) and Maris Freima­nis (1zzzzzzzzzzz03).

When first-term coun­cil­lor Jeremy White moved from Port Hawkes­bury to New­town, In­ver­ness County, he had to va­cate his coun­cil seat.

Un­der the Nova Sco­tia Mu­nic­i­pal Govern­ment Act (MGA), coun­cil­lors must re­side in the mu­nic­i­pal­ity they serve.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.