Pot rules

The Glengarry News - - The Opinion Page -

The Up­per Canada Dis­trict School Board has up­dated its stu­dent code of con­duct and poli­cies re­gard­ing non-med­i­cal use of cannabis on school board prop­erty. The move re­flects re­cent changes in fed­eral cannabis laws, and re­sult­ing changes to the Min­istry of Ed­u­ca­tion’s own rules.

The changes make clear that the non-med­i­cal use of cannabis and its pos­ses­sion is pro­hib­ited on school prop­erty, in­side all schools and on buses; that cannabis can­not be given to a mi­nor; and no in­di­vid­u­als can be un­der its in­flu­ence at school or a school board work­place. The up­dates also en­sure ac­com­mo­da­tions can be made for in­di­vid­u­als who must use cannabis for med­i­cal rea­sons. A re­view of other poli­cies re­lated to non­med­i­cal cannabis use is on­go­ing.


The board is aim­ing to im­prove its stu­dents’ marks by one to three per cent next year. The Board Im­prove­ment Plan for Stu­dent Achieve­ment and Well­ness strat­egy sets out ways to im­prove stu­dent achieve­ment in math and lit­er­acy. Un­der the plan, schools are be­ing asked to “fo­cus on en­gag­ing learn­ing ex­pe­ri­ences and im­prove as­sess­ment and feed­back prac­tices for stu­dents.”

“The goal is to see more of our stu­dents reach the pro­vin­cial achieve­ment stan­dard, where stu­dents ob­tain a score of Level 3 or higher on the as­sess­ments ad­min­is­tered by the Ed­u­ca­tion, Qual­ity and Ac­count­abil­ity Of­fice (EQAO).”


ACA­DEMIC ACHIEV­ERS: Glen­garry Dis­trict High School held its aca­demic awards cer­e­mony last week, hon­our­ing last year’s win­ners in grades 9, 10, and 11. (From left) Vice-prin­ci­pal Erin O'Rourke, Tay­lor Hambleton, Ella Camp­bell, Caileigh Kyle, Rachel Camp­bell, Emma Mal­colm-Todd, Me­gan Ro­man and Prin­ci­pal Jen­nifer MacLach­lan. Hav­ing the high­est av­er­ages in grade 9 were Ella Camp­bell, gold medal, Caileigh Kyle, sil­ver, Tay­lor Hambleton, bronze. In grade 10 the top three av­er­ages were held by Me­gan Ro­man, Kady Jeau­rond, and Rachel Camp­bell. In grade 11, the top three were Emma Mal­colm-Todd, Han­nah Fitz­patrick and Kay­lyn God­dard.


SAVE THE GROTTO: The “Save the Grotto” Com­mit­tee do­nated $5,000 to the Hôpi­tal Glen­garry Memo­rial Hos­pi­tal Foun­da­tion. The con­tri­bu­tion is the re­sult of the gen­eros­ity of com­mu­nity mem­bers who made the sum­mer con­cert series a suc­cess and the restora­tion of the Alexan­dria mon­u­ment pos­si­ble. Left to right: Dane Lanken, Robin Flock­ton, Pamela An­dre, Pierre Vail­lan­court, El­iz­a­beth Caddell, Brian Caddell, Ni­cole Nadeau, Jeff Man­ley and Terry Dube.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.