Newly elected PML-N MPAs take oath 2 days af­ter re­fus­ing to join Pun­jab Assem­bly

The Miracle - - Pakistan -

Six PML-N MPAs, who were elected to the Pun­jab Assem­bly in the re­cent by-polls, swore oath for their seats on Wed­nes­day, two days af­ter declar­ing they would not join the assem­bly. The oath was ad­min­is­tered to the newly elected law­mak­ers by Speaker Chaudhry Pervez Elahi. So­hail Shaukat Butt, Sai­ful Mu­look Khokar, Owais Les­ghari, Ma­lik Iftikhar, Ja­far Hocha and Nasir took their oaths in the assem­bly. On Mon­day, the PML-N MPAs had said they would not take oaths for their provin­cial assem­bly seats un­til Elahi re­in­stated the six law­mak­ers that had been sus­pended for al­legedly spread­ing chaos in the house. Dur­ing the PA bud­get ses­sion last week, Speaker Per­vaiz Elahi had is­sued show-cause no­tices to half a dozen PML-N MPAs for al­legedly at­tack­ing the assem­bly staff, van­dal­is­ing fur­ni­ture and us­ing abu­sive lan­guage about the govern­ment, and had banned their en­try to the assem­bly dur­ing the on­go­ing bud­get ses­sions.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.