Mark­ing an­other sea­son of speed

Driv­ers, teams gather for Peter­bor­ough Speed­way awards cer­e­mony

The Peterborough Examiner - - SPORTS - JIM CLARKE Jim Clarke op­er­ates Clarke Mo­tor­sports Com­mu­ni­ca­tions/First Draft Me­dia and cov­ers stock car racing in Cen­tral and East­ern On­tario.

Driv­ers and teams from the Cen­tral On­tario venue com­monly known as Canada’s Tough­est 3rd of a Mile Paved Oval gath­ered at The Ranch Re­sort in Bethany Satur­day to cel­e­brate a suc­cess­ful 2019 cam­paign at Peter­bor­ough Speed­way.

Fol­low­ing a de­li­cious meal, the evening con­tin­ued as track owner and pro­moter J.P. Josi­asse ac­knowl­edged the con­tri­bu­tion of the fa­cil­ity’s spon­sor­ship part­ners and staff, re­flected on the strength of the past sea­son that in­cluded an­other suc­cess­ful run­ning of the an­nual Au­tumn Colours Clas­sic, and up­dated those in at­ten­dance on the plans for the up­com­ing 2020 sched­ule.

Be­fore pre­sent­ing hard­ware to hon­our the suc­cess of the sea­son, Josi­asse an­nounced that the Best Ap­pear­ing Car awards in each di­vi­sion were in mem­ory of Joann Blais, a pho­tog­ra­pher and good friend of the track who passed away dur­ing the sea­son.

Point fund awards were pre­sented, with Corey Strawn col­lect­ing the hard­ware for his championsh­ip in the Bat­tle­field Equip­ment Rental Bone Stock di­vi­sion. Kyle No­vis — driver of the No. 45 — was named the field’s most sports­man­like driver, with Jack Hannah’s No. 27 once again tak­ing best ap­pear­ing car. An­gelo No­vis was dubbed the Bone Stock rookie of the year and the most im­proved driver.

In the Jiffy Lube Mini Stock field, Nolan Gould took the hon­ours for his first place fin­ish. The most sports­man­like driver award went to Dan De­mers. Jeremy Kelly had his No. 80 ma­chine voted best ap­pear­ing car and was also named rookie of the year. Dy­lan Wills — who fin­ished 14th in the over­all stand­ings — earned the most im­proved driver award.

Ni­cholas Led­son and Brad Lavalle shared the hard­ware for the championsh­ip sea­son in the Trent Lakes Com­plete Plumb­ing Rene­gade Truck field. Ter­riAnne Whit­tern was tabbed as 2019 most sports­man­like driver. Michael Feeney took the class best ap­pear­ing truck and rookie of the year awards. Most im­proved driver hon­ours went to the No. 29 of Alex McGib­bon.

With a very strong cam­paign un­der his belt, Mark Gor­don col­lected the KOD Dis­posal Su­per Stock ti­tle. Mar­lie Owen took home the most sports­man­like driver hon­our. The year’s best ap­pear­ing car was the No. 99 of for­mer Rene­gade Truck di­vi­sion cham­pion Tim Burke, with Jeff Remington named most im­proved driver.

Dan McHat­tie was once again named the Late Model track cham­pion. In mem­ory of Terry Calvert, McHat­tie was also voted by oth­ers in the field as the most sports­man­like driver. Tyler Junkin was named rookie of the year. McHat­tie’s No. 71 was picked as the best ap­pear­ing car, while Kyle Batty took the most im­proved driver hon­ours.

Peter­bor­ough Speed­way of­fi­cials thank Dart Heat­ing and Air Con­di­tion­ing, Great Cana­dian RV, Jiffy Lube, Pepsi, Lu­cas Oil, Kawartha Out­door decor, Bat­tle­field Equip­ment Rentals, Trent Lakes Com­plete Plumb­ing, Hoosier, Rein­hart Trail­ers and other lo­cal busi­nesses for their sup­port dur­ing the 2019 sea­son.

Spe­cial thanks to Wal­lace’s Col­li­sion for once again spon­sor­ing the championsh­ip tro­phies.


Brad Lavalle (left), Corey Strawn, Ni­cholas Led­son, Nolan Gould, Dan McHat­tie and Mark Gor­don were among the driv­ers hon­oured at the Peter­bor­ough Speed­way an­nual awards night on Satur­day.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.