RBC Tay­lor Prize nom­i­nees an­nounced

The Prince George Citizen - - Books -

TORONTO — A co­me­dian, a for­mer gov­er­nor gen­eral and sev­eral of this year’s literary awards dar­lings are among the 10 writ­ers in the run­ning for the RBC Tay­lor Prize.

Mark Critch, an­chor of CBC’s This Hour Has 22 Min­utes, earned a spot on the long list for the $25,000 non-fic­tion prize with his mem­oir about grow­ing up in New­found­land in the 1980s.

El­iz­a­beth Hay made the cut for All Things Con­soled: A Daugh­ter’s Mem­oir (McClel­land & Ste­wart) about her ex­pe­ri­ence act­ing as a guardian and care­giver to her par­ents, which won the $60,000 Hi­lary We­ston Writ­ers’ Trust Prize for Non­fic­tion last month.

Dar­rel McLeod of Sooke, B.C., is also a con­tender with his Gov­er­nor Gen­eral’s Literary Award­win­ning de­but Ma­maskatch: A Cree Com­ing of Age (Dou­glas & McIn­tyre).

Terese Marie Mail­hot added a nod from the Tay­lor Prize to the plau­dits for Heart Berries: A Mem­oir”(Dou­ble­day Canada), which was short­listed for the non­fic­tion prize at both the Writ­ers’ Trust and Gov­er­nor Gen­eral’s Literary awards.

For­mer Gov­er­nor Gen­eral David John­ston is vy­ing for the hon­our with Trust: Twenty Ways to Build a Bet­ter Coun­try (Sig­nal/ M&S), billed as a re­pair man­ual for the so­cial fab­ric on which democ­ra­cies de­pend.

Ad­ven­turer Kate Har­ris also has a shot with Lands of Lost Bor­ders: Out of Bounds on the Silk Roads about her bi­cy­cle trav­els re­trac­ing the fa­bled net­work of trade routes of cen­turies past con­nect­ing Asia and Europe.

Round­ing out the long list are: Just Let Me Look at You: On Fa­ther­hood, by Bill Gas­ton (Hamish Hamil­ton/Pen­guin Canada).

Jan in 35 Pieces: A Mem­oir in Mu­sic, by Ian Hamp­ton (Por­cu­pine’s Quill).

The prize was cre­ated in 1998 by the Charles Tay­lor Foun­da­tion and awards the win­ner with $25,000, plus $5,000 given to every fi­nal­ist.

Seek­ing the Fa­bled City: The Cana­dian Jewish Ex­pe­ri­ence, by Al­lan Levine (McClel­land and Ste­wart).

Power, Prime Min­is­ters and the Press: The Bat­tle for Truth on Par­lia­ment Hill, by Robert Lewis (Dun­durn Press).

Jurors Camilla Gibb, Roy MacGre­gor and Bev­er­ley McLach­lin praised this year’s long-listed ti­tles, culled from more than 100 books, as a “barom­e­ter for cur­rent is­sues, from rec­on­cil­i­a­tion to po­lit­i­cal trust.”

The short list for the Tay­lor Prize will be an­nounced Jan. 9 and the win­ner will be named on March 4, 2019.

The prize was cre­ated in 1998 by the Charles Tay­lor Foun­da­tion and awards the win­ner with $25,000, plus $5,000 given to every fi­nal­ist.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.