Marys­town, Burin may­ors ac­claimed for elec­tion

Two in­cum­bent may­ors cam­paign­ing


Sam Sy­nard has been re­turned by ac­cla­ma­tion as the Mayor of Marys­town. It’s the sec­ond elec­tion in a row Mr. Sy­nard has not had any com­pe­ti­tion for the top ad­min­is­tra­tive po­si­tion in the town.

He was the only can­di­date to file nom­i­na­tion papers for the may­oralty po­si­tion Tues­day, nom­i­na­tion day. Mr. Sy­nard has served as the town’s mayor for 12 years, af­ter ini­tially be­ing elected to coun­cil in 1989.

He joins Burin Mayor Kevin Lun­dri­gan in be­ing un­op­posed for elec­tion. Both towns have sep­a­rate may­oralty elec­tions.

While res­i­dents may have been sat­is­fied with Mr. Sy­nard’s record, the same can­not be said about the in­di­vid­ual coun­cil­lors. A to­tal of 16 can­di­dates have filed nom­i­na­tion papers, in­clud­ing five of the six cur­rent coun­cil­lors. Among the new can­di­dates are six women.

Coun. Charles Wis­combe de­cided af­ter 13 years not to seek re-elec­tion.

Polling booths Elec­tion Day, Sept. 24, will be lo­cated at St. Gabriel’s Hall, Lit­tle Bay Her­itage Cen­tre, Sal­va­tion Army Citadel-Cre­ston South, Sev­enth Day Ad­ven­tist Church base­ment-Cre- ston North and Mrs. Ernes­tine Kelly-Moor­ing Cove.


The Town of Grand Bank will have an ex­pected re­peat of the 2009 may­oralty elec­tion with for­mer mayor Rex Matthews again tak­ing on the cur­rent mayor, Darryl Lafosse. Mr. Lafosse won by a slim 45 votes in the pre­vi­ous elec­tion.

All six cur­rent coun­cil­lors have sub­mit­ted their names for re-elec­tion along with seven new can­di­dates. Four women are vy­ing for a seat as well.

An Ad­vance Polling Sta­tion will be held this Thurs­day, Sept. 12, at the Grand Bank Mu­nic­i­pal Cen­tre. Polling booths Elec­tion Day will be set in the Par­tanna Au­di­to­rium.

For­tune Mayor Charles Pen­well and his deputy-mayor James Dunne will be com­pet­ing against nine other can­di­dates, in­clud­ing two women, for the seven coun­cil seats this elec­tion. The For­tune coun­cil, like Marys­town, was elected by ac­cla­ma­tion in 2009.

Polling booths Elec­tion Day will be at the For­tune Fire Hall.

Two no­table oc­cur­rences this time for the St. Lawrence Town Coun­cil elec­tion – there will be an elec­tion un­like 2009 and there won’t be Mayor Wayde Rowsell to vote for as they had been for seven suc­ces­sive elec­tions.

The in­cum­bent six coun­cil­lors are look­ing to re­turn, but seven other can­di­dates are chal­leng­ing them, in­clud­ing two women.

Polling booths Sept. 24 will be sit­u­ated at the St. Lawrence Recre­ation Cen­tre.

[email protected]­

Kevin Lun­dri­gan

Sam Sy­nard

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.