High­est of hon­ours

Burin Penin­sula na­tives head­ing to pro­vin­cial soc­cer hall; Kel­loway earns NLSA’s ex­ec­u­tive award

The Southern Gazette - - Saltwire Homes - ST. JOHN’S, N.L.

Two more Burin Penin­sula na­tives are headed to the New­found­land and Labrador Soc­cer As­so­ci­a­tion’s (NLSA) Hall of Fame.

Clarence ‘Clar’ Brooks of Grand Bank and Gord Dun­phy of St. Lawrence are among the in­ductees for 2018.

Brooks, who died ear­lier this year, en­joyed a very suc­cess­ful soc­cer ca­reer that lasted more than 25 years.

In the mid 1950s at the age of 15, he earned a spot as a for­ward with the Grand Bank Gee Bees. Over the years, he would play every po­si­tion ex­cept goal­keeper.

Known for his tenac­ity, phys­i­cal­ity and fit­ness, he was a mem­ber of the Grand Bank teams that earned the ac­co­lade of NLSA’s Team of the Decade for the 1960s.

In the 1970s, he played a ma­jor role in Grand Bank’s four suc­ces­sive trips to the Chal­lenge Cup fi­nal. The 1974 team rep­re­sented the prov­ince at the na­tional Chal­lenge Cup tour­na­ment.

Dun­phy’s ca­reer in soc­cer has spanned nearly 50 years, start­ing as a player be­fore mov­ing into coach­ing and then im­mers­ing him­self in the ad­min­is­tra­tion side of the game.

Upon en­ter­ing the coach­ing ranks in the 1980s, his teams im­me­di­ately achieved suc­cess with a number of pro­vin­cial and Burin Penin­sula Soc­cer As­so­ci­a­tion (BPSA) cham­pi­onships.

In the 1990s, Dun­phy coached the St. Lawrence Lau­ren­tians to three pro­vin­cial Chal­lenge Cup ti­tles and a na­tional Chal­lenge Cup bronze medal. Dur­ing this time he was also a win­ner of the NLSA’s coach of the year award. As well, the Lau­ren­tians were named the NLSA’s Team of the Decade.

After step­ping aside from coach­ing, Dun­phy, who has also been in­ducted into the St. Lawrence and Burin Penin­sula Soc­cer Halls of Fame, moved into ad­min­is­tra­tion, serv­ing at the lo­cal, re­gional and pro­vin­cial lev­els. Along the way, he re­ceived the NLSA’s ex­ec­u­tive of the year award.

The Hall of Fame in­duc­tion cer­e­mony will take place on April 5, 2019 at the Shrine Cen­tre in St. John’s.

Join­ing Brooks and Dun­phy in the hall are Denise Hickey, John McGrath, Gerry O’Brien, Fred ‘Butch’ Reddy, Philip Ruiz and Nels Wilkins.

Award for Kel­loway

The NLSA has also an­nounced its award re­cip­i­ents for 2018 with Judi Kel­loway of Burin pick­ing up the Ben Lake Award as the or­ga­ni­za­tion’s ex­ec­u­tive of the year.

Kel­loway is heav­ily in­volved in NLSA youth soc­cer, man­ag­ing three leagues that com­bined play over 300 games every sea­son.

She sits on numer­ous com­mit­tees, in­clud­ing the rules and reg­u­la­tions com­mit­tee, man­agers’ com­mit­tee, and the youth com­mit­tee.

Kel­loway also chairs the Canada Soc­cer’s com­pe­ti­tions com­mit­tee. The NLSA’s youth fe­male player of the year award is named after Kel­loway.


Judi Kel­loway


Gord Dun­phy


Clarence Brooks

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.