Sud­bury sports award nom­i­nees

The Sudbury Star - - SPORTS - BEN LEE­SON blee­[email protected]­ Twit­ter: @ben_lee­son

Cora Babij will be hon­oured for her tire­less ef­forts in lo­cal girls hockey, while Frank Apol­loni will be rec­og­nized for his be­hind-the-scenes con­tri­bu­tions to ama­teur box­ing at the Greater Sud­bury Sports Hall of Fame Celebrity Din­ner and Awards, to be held at the Caruso Club on June 12.

Babij and Apol­loni were an­nounced as re­cip­i­ents of Vol­un­teer of the Year Awards, while nom­i­nees in 10 cat­e­gories were also named by the awards com­mit­tee on Tues­day.

Lau­ren­tian Univer­sity bas­ket­ball guard Kadre Gray is nom­i­nated once again for im­port ath­lete of the year, along­side fel­low hoop­ster Bray­lon Rayson, a guard for the Sud­bury Five and National Bas­ket­ball League of Canada MVP, as well as Sud­bury Wolves goal­tender Ukko-Pekka Luukko­nen.

Detroit Red Wings for­ward Tyler Ber­tuzzi, Colum­bus Blue Jack­ets for­ward Nick Foligno, para-Nordic skier Collin Cameron and soc­cer player Jenna Hell­strom are the lo­cal stand­outs nom­i­nated for Elite Ath­lete of the Year.

Ama­teur Fe­male Ath­lete of the Year nom­i­nees in­clude some star stu­dent-ath­letes at the OUA level, in­clud­ing Mar­i­anne Alarie in bas­ket­ball and Karli Shell in hockey, as well as Kira Brun­ton in curl­ing, along with Special Olympics gold-medal­list pow­er­lifter Josee Seguin.

Sag­i­naw Spirit cap­tain Damien Giroux, ris­ing track and field star Lo­gan Spicer and OUA vol­ley­baller Jeff Wal­ton are nom­i­nated for Ama­teur Male Ath­lete of the Year.

Joe Drago Coach of the year nom­i­nees are hockey bench bosses Cory Still­man and Drew Ban­nis­ter, Lau­ren­tian curl­ing coach Ryan Lafre­niere and long­time LU soc­cer sage Rob Gallo.

Nom­i­nees for Sheri­dan Fam­ily Team of the Year are the Team Croisier curl­ing rink of Bella Croisier, Jamie Smith, Piper Croisier, Lau­ren Ra­jala and coach Shawn Croisier, as well as the Lau­ren­tian rink of Brun­ton, Me­gan Smith, Alyssa Denyer, Mikaela Ch­es­lock, Emma John­son and coach Lafre­niere, the Sud­bury Five bas­ket­ball team and the Sud­bury Lady Wolves mid­get AA hockey club.

For the Bill Ro­man Ad­min­is­tra­tion Award, nom­i­nees are Mike Mar­tyn from the Sud­bury Dis­trict Hockey Of­fi­cials As­so­ci­a­tion and Dan Welch from the North­ern Wa­ter Sports Cen­tre, as well as the 2018 Telus Cup host com­mit­tee.

The sports awards com­mit­tee de­cided the or­ga­niz­ing com­mit­tee for the 2019 Esso Cup, which re­cently took place in Sud­bury, will be con­sid­ered for the award next year.

For High School Fe­male Ath­lete of the Year, nom­i­nees are Lau­ren Fearn from Lo-Ellen Park, Hannah Nyk­ilchyk from Lockerby and Ari­ane Saumere from Mac­don­ald-Cartier.

On the High School Male Ath­lete side, Mike Bab­cock from Lasalle Sec­ondary and Kur­tis Wen­ner­strom are the nom­i­nees.

Up for Dr. Fred Sheri­dan High School Team of the Year hon­ours are a pair of teams from Lo-Ellen Park, the Nordic ski squad and the track and field crew.

In­ductees into the Greater Sud­bury Sports Hall of Fame will also be rec­og­nized at the June 12 din­ner, which starts at 5:30 p.m.

Tick­ets for the event cost $60 for adults and $25 for chil­dren 12 and un­der and are avail­able at the House of Kin in Sud­bury at 705-566-3600 or from Chris Sheri­dan at 705-5229682.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.