Ma­soli, Mitchell fi­nal­ists for CFL’s top player award

The Sun Times (Owen Sound) - - SPORTS -

TORONTO — Quar­ter­backs Bo Levi Mitchell of the Cal­gary Stam­ped­ers and Jeremiah Ma­soli of the Hamil­ton Tiger-Cats are the fi­nal­ists for the CFL’s out­stand­ing player award.

The CFL made the an­nounce­ment Thurs­day.

Mitchell, who won the award in 2016, threw a CFL-high 35 touch­down passes this sea­son.The na­tive of Katy, Texas, helped Cal­gary (13-5) fin­ish atop the West Divi­sion stand­ings.

Ma­soli fin­ished sec­ond among CFL passers with 5,209 yards in his first full sea­son as Hamil­ton’s starter. He helped the Ti­cats (8-10) earn sec­ond in the East Divi­sion with a league-high 12 300-yard pass­ing con­tests.

The other award fi­nal­ists in­clude: lineback­ers Adam Bighill of Win­nipeg and Larry Dean of Hamil­ton (de­fen­sive player); run­ning back An­drew Har­ris of Win­nipeg and Ot­tawa re­ceiver Brad Si­nop­oli (top Cana­dian); tackle Stan­ley Bryant of Win­nipeg and guard Bran­don Reven­berg of Hamil­ton (top line­man); kick­ers Ty Long of B.C. and Ot­tawa’s Lewis Ward (spe­cial teams); Ward and Saskatchewan re­ceiver Jor­dan Wil­liams-Lam­bert (rookie); and Saskatchewan’s Chris Jones and Ot­tawa’s Rick Camp­bell (coach of the year).

The CFL will hon­our its top in­di­vid­ual per­form­ers Nov. 22 in Ed­mon­ton.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada

© PressReader. All rights reserved.