The Woolwich Observer

Two Kings among those honoured at GOJHL awards

- Steve Kannon

TWO SUGAR KINGS WERE FRONT and centre last week when the Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League passed out the hardware to recognize its best players.

Receiving honours at the Midwestern Conference event April 7 in Listowel were defenceman Liam Eveleigh and forward Brady Schwindt.

Eveleigh, the team’s captain, took home the CKCO TV Trophy for Most Valuable Player and the Cory Stoyko Memorial Trophy for Best Defenseman of the Year.

Schwindt was awarded the Joe Veroni Memorial Award for Best Defensive Forward.

“Eveleigh’s remarkable offensive contributi­ons with 13 goals and 56 points, coupled with his solid defensive play, showcase his versatilit­y and impact on the Elmira Sugar Kings. He set and tied franchise records for most points by a defenseman in a season, most game-winning goals by a defenseman in a season, and most goals by a defenseman in a season. His recognitio­n as the Most Valuable Player and Best Defenseman identifies his exceptiona­l performanc­e throughout the season, setting new franchise records and leading his team to success,” the league wrote of Eveleigh’s selection for the two awards.

Schwindt’s win as the best defensive forward marks the third straight year the award has gone to an Elmira player.

“Brady is being recognized by his peers and coaching staff around the conference for being one of the best forwards on all areas of the ice.”

Schwindt played a key role in Elmira’s defensive play, still putting up eight goals and 21 points along the way.

“Defense is definitely part of Kings culture, for sure. As a as a team, we know our roles, and that you’re there to work your hardest and just give it your all,” he said in an interview, noting he was happy to do what was needed.

“Personally, I just feel good to get an award because I wasn’t a top scorer on our team or top point guy, but the role that they need me to play was a little bit different.”

Schwindt, who wore an A this season, said he’s looking to build on the year he had, adding that there’s room for the young team to have even more success.

“We had a young team going into the season and everyone was kind of worried about how it was going to go, but overall the team came together at the start of the year,” he said. “I think next year as a team, we’re going to come back

stronger and hopefully we can go a little bit further than this year. ”

The rest of the GOJHL Midwestern Conference awards:

■ Leroy Jamieson Memorial Trophy for Most Outstandin­g Contributi­ons to a Team: Matt

Fries (Cambridge RedHawks).

■ Standard Life Insurance Award For Outstandin­g Sportsmans­hip and Ability: Will Elliot (Kitchener-Waterloo Siskins).

■ „ Unique Cup for Regular Scoring Champion & R.J Noble Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Carson Harmer (Stratford Warriors). „

■ The Kearnsy Award for Coach of the Year: Jesse Cole (Listowel Cyclones).

■ „ Twin Cities Award for Lowest Team Goals Against Average: Riley Arts and Dixon Grimes (Listowel Cyclones).

■ „ Herbert G. Parker Award – Regular Season Champions: Listowel Cyclones – 79 Points.

 ?? Submitted ?? Elmira captain Liam Eveleigh and interim commission­er Tim Simmons at the GOJHL ceremony Apr. 7 in Listowel.
Submitted Elmira captain Liam Eveleigh and interim commission­er Tim Simmons at the GOJHL ceremony Apr. 7 in Listowel.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada