Times Colonist

Shootout attracts 31 teams


Chris Baier and Will Sutton put their heads together last year and staged the first Vancouver Island Shootout at Juan de Fuca.

With very little notice, the bonspiel attracted eight teams.

This time around from Nov. 11-13, there will be 31 men’s and women’s teams battling for a total of $20,500 in prize money.

On the men’s side, 2010 world champion Blake Mcdonald, who played third for Kevin Koe, will be here skipping the team of Jamie King, Wade John- ston and Todd Brick.

Neil Dangerfiel­d of Victoria, who was second at last year men’s provincial­s, will be in the field with Denis Sutton, Darren Boden and Glen Allen.

Some of the other men’s teams are Wes Craig from Victoria, Wes Johnson from Seattle, former B.C. champion Dean Joanisse, Jason Montgomery from Duncan and Sven Michel from Switzerlan­d.

Cori Morris from Calgary, who played lead for Cheryl Bernard’s silver medal-winning team at the 2010 Winter Olympics, will be at Juan de Fuca with a new team of skip Dana Ferguson, Nikki Smith and Denise Kinghorn.

Nicole Backe from Nanaimo, Seattle’s Cristin Clark, Sarah Wark from Duncan, Kristy Lewis from Vancouver, Marla Mallett from New Westminste­r and Japan’s Ayumi Ogasawara are some of the other women’s teams. Lewis and Mallett are both former B.C. champions.

The women will play in round-robin pools and six will qualify for the playoffs.

The men will be using a triple knockout format, with six advancing to the playoffs.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Canada