ATA to have new chair­man

Cyprus Today - - NEWS -

THE An­glo Turk­ish As­so­ci­a­tion (ATA) is to have a new chair­man from among com­mit­tee mem­bers elected at its an­nual gen­eral meet­ing.

In line with the ATA’s con­sti­tu­tion, chair­man Pearl Mitchell stepped down af­ter three years at the helm, and the next chair­man will be one of the Turk­ish-speak­ing mem­bers of the com­mit­tee. The group re­ported an “ex­cel­lent” turnout of some 55 mem­bers at the meet­ing in Girne’s Eziç Premier res­tau­rant last Satur­day.

Mrs Mitchell de­liv­ered her fi­nal chair­man’s re­port, de­tail­ing the as­so­ci­a­tion’s ac­tiv­i­ties, vis­its, tours and events through­out 2017. Sum­ming up a “busy” year, she thanked mem­bers for their sup­port and par­tic­i­pa­tion.

Trea­surer Nicky Mont­gomery also re­ported on the ATA’s fi­nances, high­light­ing its con­tin­u­ing sup­port for the SOS Chil­dren’s Vil­lage and the Tatlısu Ne­olithic Re­con­struc­tion project as well as dona­tions to the Civil Emer­gency Ser­vices Vol­un­teers (CESV) and the North Cyprus So­ci­ety for Birds and Na­ture (Kuşkor) — back­ing “made pos­si­ble by the con­tin­u­ing gen­eros­ity of mem­bers”.

The ex­ec­u­tive com­mit­tee for the next year was elected unan­i­mously, com­pris­ing Gökçen Buba, Caro­line Houghton, Gül­ter Ku­ran, Mrs Mitchell, Mrs Mont­gomery, Işık Muhtaroğlu, Şe­nay Onurhan, Sue Özçiçek, Sezin Parıl­dak and Tülay Pir­galıoğlu. All posts on the com­mit­tee, in­clud­ing that of chair­man, will be al­lo­cated at its next meet­ing.

“Thank you” gifts were pre­sented dur­ing the meet­ing to Mrs Mitchell and to Jewel Pearce, who left the com­mit­tee af­ter eight years as sec­re­tary.

Com­mit­tee mem­bers old and new, with the ‘Divan’. Back row, from left, Caro­line Houghton, Pearl Mitchell, Sue Özçiçek, Işık Muhtaroğlu, Nicky Mont­gomery, Gökçen Buba and Jewel Pearce. Front, from left, Harry Fel­lows, Gül­ter Ku­ran and Ali­son Dowey.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Cyprus

© PressReader. All rights reserved.