Financial Mirror (Cyprus)

Israel, Denmark travel safety upgraded


Cyprus’ third largest tourist market, Israel, has been upgraded to ‘orange’ from ‘red’ after authoritie­s reviewed its colourcode­d COVID-19 safe travel risk assessment scheme.

Denmark was also upgraded to orange after spending a week in the red, while Thailand and South Korea moved into the green category joining just another four countries.

The new country risk assessment came into effect on 8 April.

Cyprus’ green category now hosts six countries, from which passengers arriving do not have to present any Covid-19 lab test certificat­e or self-isolate upon arrival.

For Israel, people vaccinated with an EUapproved COVID-19 vaccine are allowed entry into Cyprus without any other requiremen­t.

Main tourist markets, the UK, Russia, and several other third countries, were moved into the ‘red’ this month to promote travel.

Cyprus introduced a three-tier traffic light system for visitors from 56 countries allowed entry without quarantine.

Countries are categorise­d as Green, Orange, Red and an additional Grey class for arrivals requiring special permission from non-EU countries and have to self-isolate.

The Health Ministry said the epidemiolo­gical assessment was reclassifi­ed based on the European Centre for Disease Control’s (ECDC) upgraded risk assessment travel list.

Despite country of origin, all passengers must apply for the CyprusFlig­htPass within 24 hours before the departure of their flight.

There will also be random free testing at the island’s two airports.


Under the new COVID assessment scheme, low-risk countries currently classified in the Green category are Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, and now Thailand and South Korea.

Passengers arriving from these countries do not require to self-isolate or carry a negative coronaviru­s test.


Orange countries are those of higher risk than green. Passengers must have undergone a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure and have a certificat­e proving they tested negative for the virus.

EU member states 1) Portugal, Denmark

Schengen Area: 1) Iceland

Third countries: 1) China (including Hong Kong and Macau) and Israel

Passengers from these countries can undergo the coronaviru­s test upon arrival at their own expense and remain in selfisolat­ion pending the results if they are Cypriot citizens or residents.



This category includes countries of higher risk than orange.

Passengers coming from red category countries are required: a) to prove a negative PCR test carried out under 72 hours before departure, and b) undergo another PCR test upon arrival in the Republic of Cyprus. The cost of the test is charged to the individual.

Member States of the European Union: 1) Austria, 2) Belgium, 3) Bulgaria, 4) France, 5) Croatia, 6) Luxembourg, 7) Romania, 8) Spain, 9) Italy, 10) Greece, 11)

Malta, 12) Netherland­s, 13) Hungary, 14) Poland, 15) Finland, 16) Slovakia, 17) Slovenia, 18) Czech Republic, 19) Estonia, 20) Latvia, 21) Lithuania, 22) Sweden, 23) Germany, 24) Ireland

Small states: 1) Andorra, 2) Monaco, 3) Vatican City, 4) San Marino

Schengen Area: 1) Switzerlan­d, Liechtenst­ein, 3) Norway

Third Countries: 1) United Kingdom, 2) Rwanda, 3) Russia, 4) United Arab Emirates, 5) Ukraine, 6) Jordan, 7) Lebanon, 8) Egypt, 9) Belarus, 10) Qatar, 11) Serbia, 12) United States of America, 13) Armenia, 14) Georgia, 15) Bahrain



Arrivals are allowed entry after acquiring special permission, and only if they are Cypriot citizens or entitled to enter.

Passengers must undergo a coronaviru­s test under 72 hours before their trip and have a certificat­e they tested negative for Covid19. Grey category passengers must remain in self-isolation for 14 days or 10 if they choose to carry out another coronaviru­s PCR test with a negative result.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Cyprus