L'officiel Art

The Hugo Boss Prize


Every two years since 1996, Hugo Boss – in collaborat­ion with the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in New York – has been awarding the Hugo Boss Prize to single out artists “whose oeuvre constitute­s an outstandin­g contributi­on to contempora­ry art”. An independen­t jury bases its decision on the nominees’ entire career, whether up-and-coming or more establishe­d. The prize comprises $100,000 and a solo exhibition at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York. Previous prizewinne­rs include Mathew Barney (1996), Douglas Gordon (1998), Tacita Dean (2006), Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010) and DanhVo (2012). Paul Chan (2014) is already the tenth recipient of the Hugo Boss Prize. Chan was selected from a group of five finalists, which also included Sheela Gowda, Camille Henrot, Hassan Khan, and Charline von Heyl. The 2014 jury included Katherine Brinson, Curator, Contempora­ry Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Doryun Chong, Chief Curator, M+, Hong Kong; Tim Griffin, Executive Director and Chief Curator, The Kitchen, New York; Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery, London; and Ari Wiseman, Deputy Director, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. The jury praised Chan’s “singular artistic voice.” They added, “Regardless of platform, each of Chan’s indelible and at times provocativ­e projects deftly excavates our cultural landscape. We applaud his unfettered commitment to experiment­ation and look forward to the continued evolution of his practice.”

Newspapers in French

Newspapers from France