GNIC thrash Diplo­mats for first win in NBS cricket tour­ney

Stabroek News Sunday - - SUNDAY SPORT -

GNIC yes­ter­day notched up their first win in this year’s New Build­ing So­ci­ety (NBS) sec­ond di­vi­sion forty overs tour­na­ment af­ter com­plet­ing a five-wicket win over Diplo­mats at the Gandhi Youth Or­ga­ni­za­tion (GYO) Ground.

Diplo­mats, af­ter win­ning the toss and elect­ing to bat, were shut out for 106 in­side 19 overs with Ryan Shun grab­bing three for 15 from 4.4 overs to leave GNIC in a good po­si­tion. Im­lach lone new face in Jaguars

The right-arm off- squad spin­ner re­ceived sup­port from Jeremiah Ben­jamin (2-20) and Clare­mont Dews­bury (2-15).

GNIC, in re­sponse, romped to 107 for five in 14 overs with David Dick ham­mer­ing three sixes in a knock of 44, to lead his side to vic­tory while hand­ing Diplo­mats their fourth loss of the tour­na­ment. Dick’s ex­ploits were sup­ported by Shawn De Souza (20).

Wicket tak­ers for Diplo­mats were Sean Hughes (2-40) and Michael Mc Cal­mont (2-34). For­mer West In­dies Un­der-19 wicket-keeper bats­man Tevin Im­lach is the lone new­comer in the Guyana Jaguars’ squad for the first round of the 2018/19 Re­gional four­day cham­pi­onship, which was an­nounced by the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) yes­ter­day.

The squad will see the re­turn of open­ing bats­man Trevon Grif­fith and all-rounder Christo­pher Barn­well for the four-time de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons’ clash against the Wind­ward Is­lands Vol­ca­noes in St Lu­cia. That con­test bowls off from De­cem­ber 6.

The bal­ance of the unit is rel­a­tively even with skip­per Leon John­son and his deputy Vishaul Singh, the ones ex­pected to do the bulk of the scor­ing.

The bowl­ing de­part­ment on the other hand, which has had a lot of re­cent four-day suc­cess, will be led by spin duo Veerasammy Per­maul and Gu­dakesh Motie while speed­sters Ro­mario Shep­herd and Keon Joseph will be ex­pected to share the new ball.

The squad reads: Leon John­son (cap­tain), Vishaul Singh (vice-cap­tain), Trevon Grif­fith, Ta­ge­nar­ine Chan­der­paul, An­thony Bram­ble, Veerasammy Per­maul, Gu­dakesh Motie, Akshaya Per­saud, Christo­pher Barn­well, Clin­ton Pes­tano, Ro­mario Shep­herd, Keon Joseph and Tevin Im­lach

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Guyana

© PressReader. All rights reserved.