Or­gan­is­ers set­tle on stable win­dow for Caribbean tour­na­ment

Stabroek News Sunday - - SUNDAY SPORT -

BRIDGETOWN, Bar­ba­dos, CMC – Caribbean Premier League or­gan­is­ers and Cricket West In­dies have set­tled on a stable win­dow for the pop­u­lar Twenty20 cham­pi­onship, which will see it con­tinue to be played in Au­gust and Septem­ber for the next five years.

Prin­ci­pals of both or­gan­i­sa­tions con­firmed that the win­dow for the tour­na­ment will run from Au­gust 21 to Septem­ber 27.

For the last two years, the CPL has been played dur­ing the same months and chief op­er­at­ing of­fi­cer, Pete Rus­sell, said the new de­vel­op­ment would en­sure fans now as­so­ci­ated the time pe­riod with the tour­na­ment.

“We are very pleased to be play­ing our tour­na­ment in Au­gust and Septem­ber for the third suc­ces­sive year and we have now agreed that this will be the time of year that CPL takes place for the next five sea­sons,” Rus­sell said.

“Fans now as­so­ci­ate this time of year with Hero CPL and we have al­ready started work on bring­ing the party to life in 2019. Hav­ing the best Caribbean crick­eters and the world’s best over­seas is what our tour­na­ment is all about, and this win­dow gives us that.”

The tour­na­ment ran from Au­gust 8 to Septem­ber 16 last year, mir­ror­ing the Au­gust 4 to Septem­ber 9 dates in 2017.

How­ever, the 2016 and 2015 tour­na­ments bowled off in June while the 2014 edi­tion and the in­au­gu­ral com­pe­ti­tion got go­ing in July.

The dif­fi­culty for or­gan­is­ers was find­ing an in­ter­na­tional win­dow where the best play­ers would be avail­able and CWI chief ex­ec­u­tive, Johnny Grave, said he was pleased this had been achieved.

“The Hero CPL has de­vel­oped into one of the best and most ex­cit­ing T20 com­pe­ti­tions in the world and we look for­ward to host­ing an­other suc­cess­ful tour­na­ment later this year,” he said.

“We are pleased that we have been able to find a win­dow in our WINDIES In­ter­na­tional cal­en­dar to en­sure that all the best Caribbean crick­eters can take part, as the tour­na­ment plays a cru­cial role in our prepa­ra­tions and plan­ning for the T20 World Cup in 2020.”

This year’s open­ing round of matches will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, with the play­offs also be­ing staged in both na­tions.

Trin­bago Knight Rid­ers, based in Port of Spain, are two-time reign­ing cham­pi­ons.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Guyana

© PressReader. All rights reserved.