Barn­well, Nedd, Beaton win ma­jor DCC awards

Stabroek News - - SPORT -

The De­mer­ara Cricket Club (DCC) on Wed­nes­day evening hosted a year-end award, the first un­der Pres­i­dent Roger Harper’s cur­rent ten­ure to re­ward its play­ers for stel­lar per­for­mance this year.

DCC in 2018 copped ti­tles in nearly ev­ery youth and se­nior divi­sion as the Club con­tin­ues to as­sert its dom­i­nance in the City.

Win­ning the ‘Clive Lloyd player of the year awards’ were Skip­per Christo­pher Barn­well, Ash­mead Nedd, Nkosi Beaton, Sachin Singh and Jonathan Van Lange (un­der 13 and 15).

These awards were handed to the MVP play­ers for the First Divi­sion, Sec­ond Divi­sion, un­der – 19, un­der – 17, un­der – 15 and un­der – 13 cat­e­gories re­spec­tively.

Mean­while, West Indies un­der – 19 se­lectee, Ray­mond Perez copped the Travis Dowlin award for the most im­pact­ful per­for­mance in 2018 for smash­ing 32 runs off the fi­nal over of the Carib T20 semi­fi­nal to spur his side into the fi­nal.

Den­nis Squires was named the Ex­ec­u­tive of the year while Lawrence Smith was awarded for his lead­er­ship in 2018. The Jus­tice Aubrey Bishop Award for top CXC Stu­dent 2018 – Nkosi Beaton (5 sub­jects in­clud­ing a dis­tinc­tion)

The Fred­er­ick Wills Award for top CAPE Stu­dent 2018- Qu­mar Tor­ring­ton

The Roy Fredericks Award for the Best Bat­ting Per­for­mance in 2018: Un­der 13Jonathan Van Lange 34 vs GCC

Un­der 15- Jaden Camp­bell 28* vs Belair Ru­bis

Un­der 17- Singh 96 vs Saint

Un­der 19- Nkosi Beaton 120 vs MSC (Fi­nals)

Sec­ond Divi­sion Singh 171 Diplo­mats

First Divi­sion Christo­pher Barn­well 165 vs UG (Semi Fi­nal)

The Award

Lance for the Sachin Sachin vs

Gibbs Best Bowl­ing 2018:

Un­der 13- Romeo Deonar­ine 4-6 vs Belair Ru­bis

Un­der 15- Gus­tavo Hut­son 5-15 vs Belair Ru­bis Un­der 17- Daniel Mootoo 5-26 vs Saints

Un­der 19- Qu­mar Tor­ring­ton 4-12 vs MSC

Sec­ond Div - Xaviee Smith 11 – 1 – 21 – 6 vs

TSC First Div To­taram Bishun 13.2 – 3 – 35 – 6 vs PSC. Per­for­mance

The awardees dis­play­ing their win­ning tro­phies

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Guyana

© PressReader. All rights reserved.