Bike India - - SPORT -

It was a record-break­ing Isle of Man TT this year and even the small­est light­weight class was not an ex­cep­tion. As the race started, Ivan Lintin, the two-time Light­weight win­ner, was fight­ing with Derek McGee of KMR Kawasaki and Michael Dun­lop for the lead. By Bal­laugh, how­ever, Lintin had edged McGee to take the lead but only by 0.8 sec­onds. By Ram­sey, Lintin had in­creased the gap from 0.8 sec­onds to 2.9 sec­onds and was pulling away. At the end of lap one, Lintin looked pretty strong in the lead with al­most six sec­onds be­tween him and McGee.

How­ever, Lintin’s lead proved short-lived as the Dafa­bet De­vitt Rac­ing rider re­tired on lap two af­ter post­ing a record-break­ing time of 121.603 mph (195.701 km/h) on lap one. This pushed Michael Dun­lop into the lead, which saw the North­ern Ir­ish racer do a 122.257-mph (196.754-km/h) lap to shat­ter Lintin’s record set by him on the pre­vi­ous lap. This was mo­ti­va­tion enough for Michael as he con­tin­ued to lead the race and even­tu­ally win it and cre­ate a new race record time, which was over a minute faster than be­fore.

With the Light­weight win, Michael also be­came the third most suc­cess­ful racer at the TT with 18 wins. This would surely make the en­tire Dun­lop fam­ily proud as two of the top three most suc­cess­ful TT rac­ers come from this leg­endary fam­ily.

Derek McGee was also proud as he fin­ished sec­ond on the podium, his best-ever re­sult. Third place went to Michael Rut­ter, who fin­ished the race at an av­er­age of 118.362 mph (190.485 km/h).

Michael Dun­lop on his way to win his 18 TT

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.