Bike India

A Bastianini Kind Of Bash



Four races to go and Moto2 was as close as ever. The championsh­ip was too close to call with the four riders vying for glory: Luca Marini and Marco Bezzecchi of Sky Racing Team VR46, Enea Bastianini on the Italtrans Racing Team machine and Sam Lowes of Marc VDS.

All the aforementi­oned riders were gunning for the championsh­ip title.

Aragon, Spain, saw Sam Lowes take the victory ahead of Fabio Gianantoni­o on the Lightech Speed Up bike and Enea

Bastianini the final place on the podium. Luca Marini had a forgettabl­e GP, finishing in 11th place, hurting his championsh­ip position. Marco Bezzecchi had a worse day with a crash early on, resulting in his championsh­ip title hopes slipping away.

However, the young Italian, Bezzecchi, would come back in the first round at Valencia, taking a much-deserved victory. Red Bull Team Ajo rider Jorge Martin and Remy Gardner on the Onexox TKKR Sag Team bike took second and third places respective­ly. Championsh­ip contender Enea Bastianini was placed fourth, while Luca Marini finished sixth. Sam Lowes, unfortunat­ely, had an early shower after a crash in the second half of the race.

The second round at Valencia saw Luca Marini and Enea Bastianini finish in fifth and sixth respective­ly and Sam Lowes way down the order in 14th. It was only Marco Bezzecchi who managed a podium, finishing in third place. The race was won by Jorge Martin with second place going to Hector Garzo on the Flexbox HP 40 machine.

We then headed to Portugal for the final round of the 2020 Moto2 World Championsh­ip. Here the top four boys would all get off to a great start with Marini in the lead, followed by Lowes and Bezzecchi. Bastianini sat behind the group, knowing that a finish in that order would give him the championsh­ip.

The onslaught of Remy Gardner, who raced through the pack to take the lead and win, still did not affect the championsh­ip results. Gardner finished first, with Marini taking second place. Sam Lowes came in third, followed by Marco Bezzecchi and Enea Bastianini.

The final result meant that the new Moto2 World Champion is Enea Bastianini of the Italtrans Racing Team. The Italian rider heads to MotoGP next year along with Luca Marini, both of whom will now be teammates in the premier class.


Moto3 madness is always something to put a smile on one’s face. Three abreast into corners and impossible to pick a winner until the line is common here. However, the championsh­ip leader, Albert Arenas, on the Solunion Aspar Racing Team machine had ransacked the grid during the first half of the season. The Spaniard rode immaculate races, giving him a big lead in the championsh­ip initially.

However, with a few mishaps coupled with brilliant performanc­es by Ai Ogura on the Honda Team Asia motorcycle and Tony Arbolino of Rivacold Snipers Team brought the championsh­ip title fight down to the last few races. The second leg of Aragon saw Ogua and Arbolino finish in ninth and tenth respective­ly, with Arenas taking fourth. The win went to Jaume Masia on the Leopard Racing machine, followed by Ayumu Sasaki on the Red Bull KTM Tech 3 bike and Kaito Toba on the Red Bull KTM Ajo machine.

The first round at Valencia saw another twist with Arenas taking a tumble, opening up the championsh­ip once again. Ai Ogura and Tony Arbolino finished in third and fourth respective­ly, giving them major championsh­ip points to catch up to Arenas. The race win went to Raul Fernandez on the Red Bull KTM Ajo bike, followed by Sergio Garcia on the Estrella Galicia machine in second.

Round two at Valencia saw Tony Arbolino make himself felt with a stunning victory. Albert Arenas managed to snap up some muchneeded points by finishing in fourth, but Ai Ogura could only manage an eighthplac­e finish. Second place went to Sergio Garcia and the final podium position was taken by Raul Fernandez. The championsh­ip would be decided in the last race in Portugal with Albert Arenas having one foot on the top step.

In Portugal, qualifying seemed to go terrible for Tony Arbolino, who started 28th on the grid. At the lights, the Moto3 was in for a shock as Raul Fernandez rode like one possessed, taking a huge lead from the rest, something that is rarely seen in the Moto3 category. However, the pack behind him did have Ai Ogura and Albert Arenas in it. Soon we saw a brilliant Tony Arbolino make his way up the ladder. The Italian brushed aside all comers and finished a superb race in fourth place. Ogura, too, fought well with the pack but could only manage an eighth-place finish.

The race was won by Raul Fernandez with Dennis Foggia of Leopard Racing and Jeremy Alcoba on the Kömmerling Gresini Moto3 bike taking second and third respective­ly. However, with a destroyed rear tyre Albert Arenas fought tooth and nail with the group to finally finish in 12th place. This was good enough for the Spaniard to win the 2020 Moto3 World Championsh­ip. A hardfought season with loads of ups and downs finally came to an end. We now look forward to 2021. Until then, hearty congratula­tions to Joan Mir, Enea Bastianini, and Albert Arenas.

 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??
 ??  ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India