Dr. Ra­jen­dra Prasad, Spine Sur­geon, In­draprastha Apollo Hos­pi­tals, Delhi bagged the award for "Non-Com­mu­ni­ca­ble Dis­ease Ini­tia­tive of the Year" at the BMJ Awards South Asia 2017

Business Sphere - - APOLLO HOSPITALS - By Our Cor­re­spon­dent

Seven In­dian doc­tors have se­cured prizes from across 10 cat­e­gories in the fourth edi­tion of BMJ Awards South Asia 2017 that seeks to re­ward in­di­vid­u­als and teams work­ing tire­lessly to im­prove the qual­ity of health­care across the re­gion. The 2017 Awards, which re­ceived over 2000 high-qual­ity nom­i­na­tions from eight coun­tries across South Asia in­clud­ing In­dia, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pak­istan, Bhutan, Myan­mar and Mal­dives, spanned across a di­verse and egal­i­tar­ian mix of cat­e­gories rang­ing from health­care qual­ity, medical ed­u­ca­tion, tech­no­log­i­cal in­no­va­tion and re­search, and clin­i­cal ex­cel­lence. "Ev­ery year, we wish to fur­ther raise the bar with BMJ Awards South Asia. We hope clin­i­cians utilise this plat­form to show­case to the world how their ef­forts are trans­form­ing health­care," Prashant Mishra, Manag­ing Direc­tor of medical jour­nal BMJ In­dia, said in a state­ment on Mon­day. While Ritesh Agar­wal, from Max Smart Su­per Spe­cialty Hos­pi­tal, Delhi won in the cat­e­gory "In­fec­tious Dis­ease Ini­tia­tive of the Year", Ra­jen­dra Prasad, from In­draprastha Apollo Hos­pi­tals, Delhi, was de­clared win­ner in the cat­e­gory "Non- Com­mu­ni­ca­ble Dis­ease Ini­tia­tive of the Year". In the cat­e­gory "Ex­cel­lence in Medical Ed­u­ca­tion", Sonal Asthana, from Aster CMI Hos­pi­tal, Bengaluru, won the award, while Lallu Joseph, from Chris­tian Medical Col­lege, Vel­lore, se­cured first place in the cat­e­gory of "Qual­ity Im­prove­ment Team of the Year". Swati Ma­hen­dru from Ma­ni­pal Uni­ver­sity, ranked high­est in the cat­e­gory "Post Grad­u­ate The­sis of the Year", and Lob­sang Tse­tim from Ra­makr­ishna Mis­sion Hos­pi­tal, Itana­gar, se­cured the first spot in the cat­e­gory "Sur­gi­cal Team of the Year". In the cat­e­gory "Ma­ter­nal and Child Health Team of the Year", Aarti Av­inash Kinikar, from B.J. Govern­ment Medical Col­lege and Sas­soon Gen­eral Hos­pi­tal, Pune, won the award. "The work done by all the winners are of high­est stan­dards and in­no­va­tive in ap­proach, that even­tu­ally makes a pos­i­tive im­pact on the lives of many a peo­ple," added Fiona Godlee, Ed­i­torin-Chief, The BMJ.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.