Business Standard

Cong releases 3rd list for LS polls

Declares candidates for 11 seats in Guj, 17 in Karnataka, seven in Maharashtr­a


The Congress' Central Election Committee (CEC) which met in New Delhi on Thursday finalised the candidatur­e of senior leader Digvijaya Singh from Madhya Pradesh's Rajgarh Lok Sabha seat, sources said.

During the meeting, the party's Uttar Pradesh unit conveyed to the panel that people of Amethi and Raebareli want a Gandhi family member to contest from there.

The CEC, chaired by party chief Mallikarju­n Kharge, met here to finalise Lok Sabha poll candidates for Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.

Sources said that the candidatur­e of Digvijaya Singh from Rajgarh, Arun Yadav from Guna and Kantilal Bhuria from Ratlam was finalised during the meeting for Madhya Pradesh which was attended by state chief Jitu Patwari and AICC general secretary in-charge of state Jitendra Singh.

Also, for the first time that the panel took up discussion­s on the candidates for the politicall­y crucial Uttar Pradesh.

Asked about Amethi and Raebareli seats, Congress' UP chief Ajay Rai said after the meeting, “We have given our proposal that a Gandhi family member should contest from Amethi and Raebareli as it is the demand of the people there. Now, it is up to the party leadership to decide on it."

There is speculatio­n that Rahul Gandhi may also contest from Amethi, besides his declared seat of Wayanad in Kerala, and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra from Raebareli, a seat which was previously held by Sonia Gandhi.

Both the seats in UP are considered bastions of the Gandhi family and the local units of the Congress have demanded that the two scions of the Gandhi family should contest from there.

While Digvijaya Singh is set to contest from Rajgarh, Yadav would take on Union minister and former Congress leader Jyotiradit­ya Scindia.

Asked about the finalisati­on of candidates for Madhya Pradesh, Patwari said, “We had stated that we will give more than 50 per cent tickets to youth. We have kept that in mind and the decisions have been taken unanimousl­y. It will be declared tonight or tomorrow.”

“All big leaders with chances of winning are contesting," he said when asked about the candidatur­e of Digvijaya Singh, who had contested from Bhopal in 2019 and lost to Pragya Singh Thakur.

UP Congress chief Rai, MP Congress chief Patwari and J&K unit chief Vikar Rasool Wani were present in the meetings held for their respective states.

Party’s UP unit conveyed to the panel that people of Amethi and Raebareli want a Gandhi family member to contest from there

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India