In­dian Sport

The sec­ond round of the Volk­swa­gen Mo­tor­sport Ameo Cup had all the mak­ings of a proper rac­ing week­end, set­ting up an ex­cit­ing cham­pi­onship ahead

Car India - - CONTENTS -

Round two of the Volk­swa­gen Mo­tor­sport Ameo Cup sure lived up to ex­pec­ta­tions. Round one saw Dhruv Mo­hite white­wash the com­pe­ti­tion and win the max­i­mum points in all the races. How­ever, round two in Chen­nai was a dif­fer­ent story. An­mol Singh Sahil im­pressed through­out the week­end, Jeet Jhabakh drove bril­liantly, and Dhruv Mo­hite, who had an un­for­tu­nate week­end, ended on a high.

Post the races, Sirish Vissa, Head of Volk­swa­gen Mo­tor­sport, said, ‘We are now half way through the 2018 Ameo Cup sea­son and the bat­tle for the driver’s ti­tle has never been this wide open. We have mul­ti­ple con­tenders all of whom are ca­pa­ble enough to go the dis­tance. Also, sur­pris­ingly, we have a few rookie driv­ers who are along­side the more ex­pe­ri­enced in the over­all points tally, which is a tes­ta­ment to all the work put in by our driver coaches, Ray­omand Bana­jee and Karthik Tha­rani.’

Vissa fur­ther said, ‘We had a quick turn­around to­day with mul­ti­ple races in a short time frame. The cars have been bril­liant to­day in terms of per­for­mance and re­li­a­bil­ity. Even the MRF tyres have been de­liv­er­ing a con­sis­tent per­for­mance con­sid­er­ing the scorch­ing Chen­nai heat and high track tem­per­a­tures.’

Race One

Race one saw the usual sus­pects lin­ing up at the front of the grid, with Dhruv Mo­hite lead­ing the ex­pe­ri­enced driv­ers’ list on pole po­si­tion. At the start, a good fight saw quite a show, with Sau­rav Bandy­opad­hyay tak­ing the lead and a com­fort­able win in race one. An­mol Singh Sahil took sec­ond, hold­ing off Dhruv Mo­hite, whose race was plagued by prob­a­ble sus­pen­sion is­sues. It was a con­fi­dence boost­ing win for Sau­rav, the third of his ca­reer. With podium fin­ishes in round one, too, Sau­rav is now back in the mix for the ti­tle.

Race Two

A re­verse grid saw Sid­dharth Me­hdi­ratta on pole, fol­lowed by Tuhid An­war up-front with him and Jeet Jhabakh and Shub­ho­moy Ball mak­ing up row two. How­ever, Sid­dharth botched up the op­por­tu­nity and false started. He started from the pits, end­ing his chances for the win. The race was re­duced by a lap and, at the restart, Jeet Jhabakh, who had a clear path in front of him due to Sid­dharth’s ab­sence, got off to an amaz­ing start and took the lead. An­mol and Sau­rav Bandy­opad­hyay had a bril­liant scrap through­out the race, but this time An­mol got the bet­ter of Sau­rav and held sec­ond spot with Sau­rav fin­ish­ing third. Jeet had a flaw­less race from start to fin­ish and col­lected the max­i­mum points for it. Race Three

Race three’s grid works on the sec­ond best qual­i­fy­ing time. This saw Sau­rav Bandy­opad­hyay on pole po­si­tion and Dhruv Mo­hite in sec­ond. At the lights Sau­rav got off to a slow start which was cap­i­tal­ized quickly by Dhruv, who took the lead into the first cor­ner. Dhruv, gut­ted after re­tir­ing in the sec­ond race once again due to sus­pen­sion is­sues, stayed in the lead and took the fi­nal race win. The race was not with­out its fair share of drama. A safety car was de­ployed due to an in­ci­dent with Anu­ran­jan Vel­mu­ru­gan and Arefeen Ahmed on lap one. An in­sane surge through the field by Jeet Jhabakh also saw him clinch sec­ond place. In third, with a hat-trick of podium fin­ishes for round two of the VW Mo­tor­sport Ameo Cup was An­mol Singh Sahil.

Re­port: Zal Cursetji Pho­tog­ra­phy: VW Mo­tor­sport Top) ( Sau­rav Bandy­opad­hyay on his way to vic­tory in race one

Above)( Podium win­ners of race two Jeet, An­mol and Sau­rav with the head of VW Mo­tor­sport Sirish Vissa

To­pright) ( Dhruv Mo­hite with a comeback win after a lit­tle sus­pen­sion trou­ble in races one and two

Right)( Dhruv, Jeet and An­mol on the podium after the third race

Be­low)( Jeet drove flaw­lessly from start to fin­ish to win race two

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.