BJP spoilt for Speaker choice

Viren­dra Ku­mar, Radha Mo­han, Maneka, Ah­luwalia among front-run­ners to chair Lok Sabha

DNA (Daily News & Analysis) Mumbai Edition - - FRONT PAGE - Manan Ku­mar manan.ku­[email protected]­

New Delhi: The gov­ern­ment has cho­sen seven-time BJP MP, Dr Viren­dra Ku­mar, to be the pro-tem or the in­terim Speaker of the Lok Sabha. Dr Ku­mar, who won this time from Tikam­garh in Mad­hya Pradesh, will ad­min­is­ter the oath to the newly elected mem­bers of the 17th Lok Sabha on June 17 and 18 fol­low­ing which he will pre­side over the elec­tion of the Speaker on June 19.

Since the Speaker is ideally meant to be neu­tral and has to in­dulge the Op­po­si­tion, the gov­ern­ment usu­ally tries to elect as Speaker some­one who is ex­pe­ri­enced enough, com­mands re­spect cut­ting across party lines and at same time is ca­pa­ble to com­plete the agenda of the gov­ern­ment.

Of its big kitty of 303 MPS, the Modi gov­ern­ment has sev­eral op­tions from mem­bers who have not been made ministers to choose from as the Speaker of the 17th LS.

There is an out­side chance of Viren­dra Ku­mar get­ting the cov­eted post. There is a prece­dence of Som­nath Chat­ter­jee be­com­ing the Speaker after des­ig­nated as LS pro­tem speaker. Be­ing a Dalit with strong RSS back­ground Ku­mar also fits in BJP’S scheme of things.

Radha Mo­han Singh

Maneka Gandhi

SS Ah­luwalia

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.