In Te­lan­gana, 15K wheel­chairs for dis­abled vot­ers

DNA (Delhi) - - STATE OF POLLS -

Jaipur: The Bahu­jan Sa­maj Party (BSP) on Fri­day re­leased the sec­ond list of can­di­dates for the en­su­ing Assem­bly polls in Ra­jasthan. The BSP has fielded Kis­hand Chand Sharma from Dholpur, Ramhet Kush­waha from Badi and Vi­jay Shankar Bohra from Dausa. While Lak­sh­man Chaud­hary is con­test­ing from Al­war, Su­nil Ku­mar Jad­hav from Bharat­pur and Dayas Ahmed Khan will be con­test­ing from Jhal­wad seat. Ear­lier in Oc­to­ber, BSP chief Mayawati had an­nounced that the party would fight alone in en­su­ing Ra­jasthan and Mad­hya Pradesh polls.

We ex­pected the Te­lan­gana gov­ern­ment to be more re­spon­sive, more demo­cratic. It hasn’t been. MLAs are pow­er­less; Min­is­ters are mere fig­ure­heads and all pow­ers are con­cen­trated in the hands of the Chief Min­is­ter who doesn’t re­spond.

M Ko­dan­daram,

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.