Ra­jy­ot­sava list out: Mar­garet Alva, Gu­ruva Kor­aga from DK to re­ceive hon­our

Evening Today - - STATE -

Bengaluru: Fi­nally, the state gov­ern­ment an­nounced the Ra­jot­sava award win­ners list. This list of 63 achiev­ers in­cludes the names of for­mer gover­nor, Mar­garet Alva, 103-year-old Gu­ruva Kor­aga, Kere Kamegowda of 14 lake fame among oth­ers. For­mer Chief Jus­tice of Kar­nataka High Court HL Dattu, di­rec­tor HN Bhar­gava, Am­mem­bala Anand, Yak­sha­gana artists Hiriyadka Gopala Rao, Sitharama Ku­mar Ka­teel, Annu De­vadiga from Dhar­mastala are other im­por­tant achiev­ers se­lected for the award.

This year’s award was de­layed due to var­i­ous rea­sons. While the gov­ern­ment said that the by­polls in the state pre­vented it from hold­ing the event as poll code of con­duct was in place, the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion re­jected this claim.

How­ever, sources in the power cor­ri­dors of the state said that CM Ku­maraswamy did­not want any awk­ward sit­u­a­tion aris­ing with his coali­tion part­ner over the is­sue of se­lect­ing names for the pres­ti­gious award. It is said that scores and scores of en­tries, speci­cally with po­lit­i­cal rec­om­men­da­tions had come in, leav­ing the gov­ern­ment in a x. Hence it is said that the gov­ern­ment bought time to set­tle with 63 names from the list

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.