Chet­ti­nad fare

Evo India - - Himalayan Odyssey -

THERE ARE ENOUGH rea­sons why Coim­bat­ore is called the home of In­dian mo­tor­sport. It gave the coun­try among its first race tracks in the form of the Kari Mo­tor Speed­way, and is home to a large num­ber of race and rally teams. It has al­ways hosted some of the best ral­lies in the coun­try, and round two of the 2014 IRC hosted by the Coim­bat­ore Auto Sports Club was no ex­cep­tion.

With as many as 36 en­tries, the Rally of Coim­bat­ore promised a lot more ac­tion that the 20-odd en­tries in the first round. What rally fans were look­ing for­ward to was the duel be­tween the two Mahin­dra Ad­ven­ture driv­ers, Gau­rav Gill (co-driver Musa Sherif) and Amit­tra­jit Ghosh (Ash­win Naik), in the mon­strous Su­per XUV500.

The blue Mit­subishi Lancer Evo VI of PG Ab­hi­lash (Kumar Ramaswamy) was another at­ten­tion grab­ber, while IRC 1600 was where the ac­tion was. With a dozen Volk­swa­gen Po­los in the class, it was clear how much favour the Ger­man hatch is find­ing with ral­ly­ists, after its suc­cess­ful de­but at the hands of Slide­ways In­dus­tries driv­ers last year.

The stages were the same as 2013 – two gravel stages, run twice each on day 1, and once on day 2, apart from the SSS at the race­track. Un­for­tu­nately for Ghosh, his XUV500's tur­bocharger packed up in SS1, end­ing his chal­lenge though he did start on day 2 for leg points. With his neme­sis out, Gill was blaz­ing through the stages, and had no trou­ble bring­ing it home yet again.

The IRC 2000 class was won by Team Yokohama's Rahul Kan­tharaj (Vivek Bhatt) fol­lowed by Slide­ways In­dus­tries' Byram Go­drej (So­mayya AG) and Prithvi Do­minic (Ravin­dra MS). Pri­va­teer Ar­jun Rao Aroor clinched a win in the IRC 1600 class, apart from fin­ish­ing sec­ond over­all. Fin­ish­ing sec­ond in the IRC 1600 was Vikram De­vadasen (Shrikanth) fol­lowed by Phal­guna Urs (Anoop Kumar) in third. Raghu Nan­dan (Su­raj K) se­cured the top slot in the FMSCI 1600 Cup, fol­lowed by Adith KC (Har­ish KN) and Anirud­dha Rangnekar (Nitin Ja­cob) in sec­ond and third places re­spec­tively.

As ex­pected, Gill scored another vic­tory at the Rally of Coim­bat­ore

Top: With arch ri­val and team-mate Ghosh not in con­tention, Gill had no trou­ble win­ning his sec­ond con­sec­u­tive rally this sea­son. Above: Pri­va­teer Ar­jun Rao Aroor stormed to the top of a crowded IRC 1600 class, also fin­ish­ing sec­ond over­all

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.