Ach­intya Mehro­tra sets fire to the as­phalt at the NM Au­tocross 2018


Ca­sio Ed­i­fice ECB-800 for For­mula1 fa­nat­ics, Google Pixel Night Sight & Stand re­view and Ot­ter­box De­fender for iPhone 8, a must have for bik­ers

IN­DIA’S GREAT­EST MO­TOR­SPORT com­pe­ti­tion for am­a­teur mo­tor­sport en­thu­si­asts, the North­ern Mo­tor­sport Au­tocross of 2018, was held in Greater Noida’s Buddh In­ter­na­tional Cir­cuit on De­cem­ber 1st and 2nd. Be­ing the first in­de­pen­dent edi­tion of the North­ern Mo­tor­sport Au­tocross in al­most 2 decades, the event saw large crowds of com­peti­tors and au­to­mo­bile en­thu­si­asts from var­i­ous parts of the coun­try con­gre­gate to cel­e­brate the sport.

The first day started with con­tenders try­ing to un­der­stand the el­e­ments of the course and tech­ni­cal­i­ties it re­quired. While many com­pleted their maiden runs in a dash, clock­ing im­pres­sive tim­ings, most com­peti­tors chose to stay slow and gather a good un­der­stand­ing of the course. Things started to heat up as the day grew to the end with con­tenders putting in all their en­er­gies to so­lid­ify their spot in the fi­nals.

The Am­a­teur-Stock Group saw the youngest par­tic­i­pant of the com­pe­ti­tion, Karan Khu­rana lead­ing the 2WD Be­low 1100cc class with the best time of 200.858 sec­onds, Ab­hi­jit Singh stood at the helm of the 2WD 1100-1400cc class of the group with a best time of 200.866 sec­onds. Karan also led the AM-STK 2WD above 1650cc class with the best time of 184.156 sec­onds. Sa­marth Sawh­ney led the Pro­fes­sional Stock Group in the 2WD 1100-1400cc while Bani Ya­dav led the 2WD above 1650cc class with the best time of 189.392 sec­onds.

In the Pro­fes­sional-Mod­i­fied Group, Aab­hishek Mishra led the 2WD be­low 1100cc class on the open­ing day with the top time of 176.705 sec­onds, Lak­shay Veer Dabas topped 2WD 1100-1400cc class with the best time of 174.328 sec­onds. Am­ber Udasi led the 2WD 1400-1650cc class of the group with tim­ings of 181.071 sec­onds. Ach­intya Mehro­tra hit an in­cred­i­ble best time of 162.967 sec­onds in the chal­leng­ing

‘Open’ class and was fol­lowed by Aab­hishek Mishra who had the best time of 166.884 sec­onds in the Open 2WD Class. The Open 4WD Class saw Aman­preet Ah­luwalia lead­ing with 179.76 sec­onds.

On the ul­ti­mate day, all par­tic­i­pants were given one track run in which they had to clock their best ef­fort. In the ‘Ama­teurS­tock’ Group, Shivani Gau­rav, the only fe­male con­tender in the class, beat all her male coun­ter­parts to emerge vic­to­ri­ous in 2WD be­low 1100cc class clock­ing her best time of 210.971 sec­onds. 18-year old Karan won the 2WD above 1650cc in his Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS, clock­ing an im­pres­sive tim­ing of 185.039 sec­onds.

Team Sparky’s Vidit Jain won the 2WD 1100-1400cc class in the Pro­fes­sion­alS­tock Group, aboard his Maruti Suzuki Swift, clock­ing at 179.333 sec­onds. The 2WD 1400-1650cc was dom­i­nated by Honda City cars, with all three win­ners driv­ing a City car. Nitin Bir won the class with a tim­ing of 195.476 sec­onds.

Pro­fes­sional-Mod­i­fied Group was no slouch ei­ther. Aman­deep Singh ma­noeu­vred his lit­tle Maruti Suzuki Zen to vic­tory in the be­low 1100cc class clock­ing at 187.407 sec­onds. Driv­ing a Maruti Suzuki Es­teem, Lak­shay won 2WD 11001400 cc class in this group with a tim­ing of 172.669 sec­onds.

Vet­eran racer and ral­ly­ist Bani won the Ladies Cup of NM Au­tocross 2018, cross­ing the fin­ish line at 187.908 sec­onds in her Maruti Suzuki Brezza. All eyes were on the Open Group, where Ach­intya won the fiercely con­tested 2WD class with an as­tound­ing time of 164.332 sec­onds in his Maruti Suzuki Swift that he fondly calls ‘Tur­bokat’. Aab­hishek was breath­ing fire down Mehro­tra’s neck in this class as he clocked the fin­ish line at 164.613 sec­onds, los­ing the nu­mero uno spot by a mar­gin of merely one-third of a se­cond. Vidit won the 4WD class of the Open Group with tim­ings of 177.508 sec­onds.

The Team Tro­phy went to Team Sparky’s Garage who put up an amaz­ing show, field­ing win­ning can­di­dates in most of the classes. The Tuner tro­phy went to FRK Rac­ing and Ach­intya Mehro­tra bagged the award for the Over­all Fastest Track Run of the event for his 161.284 sec­onds run in the Qual­i­fier Round of Open 2WD Class.

The 2018 edi­tion of North­ern Mo­tor­sport An­nual Au­tocross had par­tic­i­pants go­ing through mo­ments of tremen­dous highs as well some painstak­ing lows, but in the end, every­one was all smiles in the true spirit of the sport. The ex­cep­tion­ally high num­ber of fresh en­trants re­in­states the fact that Au­tocross as a for­mat holds in­cred­i­ble po­ten­tial to pop­u­larise mo­tor­sport amongst the masses. ⌧



Top to bot­tom: A Gypsy tak­ing on au­tocross is a rare sight; Ach­intya Mehro­tra, the man who rep­re­sented In­dia at the AAGC 2017; tur­bocharged Swift with an LSD

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.