Hyundai and BMW win big at ICOTY

The Hyundai Venue won the 2020 In­dian Car of the Year, with the BMW 3 Se­ries bag­ging the Pre­mium Car Award

Evo India - - IIGNITION -

THE ICOTY (IN­DIAN CAR OF THE Year) 2020 ti­tle went to the Hyundai Venue, while the Pre­mium Car Award was won by the BMW 3 Se­ries. The en­tire awards pro­ceed­ings from the jury round to the award night was done with trans­parency with the help of of­fi­cial au­dit­ing part­ner, Grant Thornton In­dia. JK Tyre have sup­ported the ICOTY since its in­cep­tion way back in 2005 and were the spon­sors this time round too.

Speak­ing on the oc­ca­sion, Dr Raghu­pati Sing­ha­nia, chair­man and MD, JK Tyre, said, “This is the most ex­cit­ing night for the auto in­dus­try and right­fully so. With au­tomak­ers leap­ing for­ward and in­no­vat­ing at a rapid pace, this year brought many strong con­tenders to the ta­ble, mak­ing the jury's task of pick­ing win­ners that much more dif­fi­cult. JK Tyre's

sup­port to the ICOTY and IMOTY Awards is a tes­ti­mony to that fer­vor for ex­cel­lence and be­ing part of this re­mark­able jour­ney has been sim­ply won­der­ful.”

Upon re­ceiv­ing the award for the Venue, S S Kim, MD and CEO, Hyundai Mo­tor In­dia Lim­ited, said, “It is a mo­ment of great pride for all of us at the Hyundai fam­ily. Win­ning the sixth ICOTY award symbolises the trust and faith of the cus­tomers in the Hyundai brand. We thank all our cus­tomers, part­ners, me­dia and ju­rors for choos­ing Hyundai Venue as the In­dian Car of The Year 2020.”

This year's ICOTY was packed with many strong con­tenders like the Honda Civic, Tata Har­rier, and Re­nault Triber. The Venue even beat the Kia Sel­tos at the points ta­ble, scor­ing 111 points as com­pared to the Sel­tos' 102. The Re­nault Triber rounded off the top three.

The Pre­mium Car Award by ICOTY, re­served for cars priced above `40 lakh, went to the BMW 3 Se­ries that beat big­ger cars like the BMW X5, with the 3 Se­ries scor­ing 105 points, the X5 get­ting 102 points and the Audi A6 com­ing in third with 67 points.

The ICOTY awards jury was made up of 16 mem­bers that in­cluded evo In­dia ed­i­tor Sirish Chandran and mo­tor­sport ed­i­tor Anirud­dha Rangnekar, Yo­gen­dra Pratap Singh (chair­man – ICOTY) and Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today); Dhruv Behl and Ishan Raghava (Au­toX); Aspi Bha­thena and Sar­mad Kadiri (Car In­dia); Pablo Chaterji and Kar­tik Ware (Mo­tor­ing World); Ber­trand D'Souza and Ro­hit Parad­kar (Over­drive); Mu­ralid­har Swami­nathan (The Hindu Busi­ness Line); Vikrant Singh (CarWale); Kushan Mi­tra (The Pi­o­neer); and Girish Karkera (GQ In­dia).



Left: ICOTY con­tenders lined up at the BIC for the jury round. Be­low: Team Hyundai In­dia, ac­cept­ing the ICOTY 2020 tro­phy from the jury and JK Tyre and In­dus­tries Ltd MD Dr Raghu­pati Sing­ha­nia. Bot­tom: Ru­dratej Singh, MD and CEO, BMW In­dia, re­ceives the Pre­mium Car Award

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.