Hindustan Times ST (Jaipur) - - Nation -

port­edly seen fir­ing.

Ad­di­tional di­rec­tor gen­eral (Meerut zone) Prashant Ku­mar said the man, iden­ti­fied only as Jeetu alias Fauji, was men­tioned as one of the 27 ac­cused we have said 28 ear­lier named in the FIR on charges of mur­der and ri­ot­ing. “His role is be­ing in­ves­ti­gated,” he said.

A se­nior of­fi­cer privy to the in­ves­ti­ga­tion said the man had gone miss­ing af­ter the in­ci­dent. His fam­ily re­port­edly claimed he was on leave and had re­turned to the place of his post­ing in Jammu.

The of­fi­cer said of­fi­cials of the army man’s unit in Jammu had been con­tacted, but that he was un­trace­able.

An army spokesper­son con­firmed that the UP Po­lice con­tacted North­ern Com­mand and were as­sured co­op­er­a­tion, the spokesper­son also added the “de­tails would be re­leased by the UP po­lice at ap­pro­pri­ate time af­ter pos­i­tive iden­ti­fi­ca­tion”.

The po­lice have filed two FIRs – one in the mob vi­o­lence case and the other over the al­leged cow slaugh­ter. In the first case, 28 peo­ple have been named, in­clud­ing the prime sus­pect, ab­scond­ing Ba­jrang Dal of­fice-bearer Yo­gesh Raj, who has claimed in­no­cence over video and said he was never present at the spot.

A sec­ond sus­pect, lo­cal Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Shikhar Agar­wal, also re­leased a video on Thurs­day blam­ing Su­bodh Singh for the vi­o­lence and claim­ing he wasn’t present when the shots were fired.

The ini­tial probe re­vealed both Su­bodh Singh and Su­mit Ku­mar, who was al­legedly a part of the ram­pag­ing mob, were shot dead with weapons of the same .32mm bore but whether those were fired from the same weapon would be known only af­ter the re­port from the foren­sic lab was re­ceived. 65-70%.

“Polling went on peace­fully with­out any law and or­der prob­lem in these con­stituen­cies. We shall take all pre­cau­tions till the elec­tronic vot­ing ma­chines (EVM) and other equip­ment reaches the strong rooms safely,” di­rec­tor gen­eral of po­lice M Ma­hen­der Reddy said.

A poll con­ducted by Axis My In­dia – In­dia To­day and Aaj Tak pre­dicts a range of 102 to 120 seats for the BJP in Mad­hya Pradesh, seek­ing a fourth straight term in the state, and 104 to 122 for the Congress. But a Times Now-CNX sur­vey pre­dicts a clear ma­jor­ity for the BJP in MP with 126 seats, while it gives the Congress 89 seats, a marked im­prove­ment over its tally in the last elec­tion but still trail­ing the BJP.

In­dia TV poll gives BJP 122-130 seats against its 165 in 2013 and Congress 86-92 seats as op­posed to its 58 seats in 2013. The Repub­lic Jan Ki Baat sur­vey pre­dicts 108128 seats for the BJP, 95 -111 for the Congress.

Mad­hya Pradesh has 230 seats and the ma­jor­ity mark for a party to win is 116.

In neigh­bour­ing Ch­hat­tis­garh, too, the Times Now-CNX exit poll gives the BJP a ma­jor­ity, 46 seats, and the Congress 35. It pre­dicts that the am­bi­tious part­ner­ship be­tween for­mer Congress leader Ajit Jogi and Mayawati’s BSP will get seven seats. In­dia TV’s sur­vey too gives BJP the up­per end of a range of 42 to 50 seats, the Congress 32 to 38, and Jogi-BSP six to eight seats.

The CVoter - Repub­lic TV poll, how­ever, shows a closer fight, giv­ing BJP 35-43 seats and the Congress 40-50, while it pre­dicted a the Jogi-BSP com­bine to get three to seven seats. The Axis My In­dia - In­dia To­day and Aaj Tak poll, how­ever, shows Congress com­fort­ably ahead at 55-65 seats and BJP trail­ing at 21-31.

Al­most all polls show that Maya-Jogi com­bine, which was hop­ing to play the king­maker, would end with seats in the range of three to eight. Ch­hat­tis­garh has 90 assem­bly seats and a party needs 46 to form gov­ern­ment.

In Ra­jasthan, two exit polls pre­dict a Congress win. The In­dia To­day-Axis My In­dia pre­dicts a range of 119 to 141 seats for the Congress, good to un­seat the BJP’s Va­sund­hara Raje; it gives the BJP 55-72 seats.

A party needs 100 seats in the 200-mem­ber assem­bly in Ra­jasthan. The Times Now-CNX sur­vey too pre­dicts a ma­jor­ity for the Congress at 105 seats, with 85 for the BJP in Ra­jasthan.

In Te­lan­gana, most exit polls pre­dict a win for the TRS. The Times Now-CNX sur­vey says TRS will be com­fort­ably ahead of the Congress-Tel­ugu De­sam Party (TDP) com­bine with 66 seats. The Maha Kootami of the Congress-TDP will get 37 seats.

EVM mal­func­tions were re­ported in Ra­jasthan. The Congress com­plained to the Elec­tion Com­mis­sion claim­ing that they re­ceived 460 com­plaints of EVM mal­func­tion and the BJP lead­ers try­ing to in­tim­i­date vot­ers, the party said in a state­ment.

Ra­jasthan Congress pres­i­dent Sachin Pilot said the party will sweep the polls, while chief minister Va­sund­hara Raje also ex­pressed con­fi­dence say­ing the exit polls have gone wrong sev­eral times in the past.

TRS pres­i­dent and care­taker chief minister K Chan­drasekhar Rao ex­pressed con­fi­dence that his party would come back to power in Te­lan­gana, but the state Congress pres­i­dent N Ut­tam Ku­mar Reddy to ex­pressed con­fi­dence that said Maha Kootami was go­ing to form the next gov­ern­ment in Te­lan­gana.

The re­sults of all five states will be de­clared on De­cem­ber 11.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.