India Today - - GLASS HOUSE -

Pranab Mukher­jee’s last ma­jor de­ci­sion as fi­nance min­is­ter may not see the light of day. The last file signed by the for­mer fi­nance min­is­ter ap­proved the con­sti­tu­tion of the 14th Fi­nance Com­mis­sion with for­mer RBI gover­nor Y. V. Reddy as chair­man in the rank of Cab­i­net min­is­ter. Among the mem­bers in the rank of min­is­ter of state were for­mer sec­re­tary ( eco­nomic af­fairs) R. Gopalan, for­mer ex­pen­di­ture sec­re­tary Sushma Nath and econ­o­mist Parthasara­thi Shome. The Prime Min­is­ter could have signed off on the ap­point­ments in his month- long stint as fi­nance min­is­ter. But now P. Chi­dambaram may con­sti­tute a new com­mis­sion.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.