In­dia to soon of­fer Visa-on-Ar­rival fa­cil­ity to 13 more na­tions

Micetalk - - FACTS -

The num­ber of na­tions whose cit­i­zens can avail of Visa-on-Ar­rival (VoA) in In­dia is likely to ex­pand, to in­clude 13 coun­tries largely from Europe and South­east & Cen­tral Asia. The decision was mo­ti­vated by a re­view by the PMO to en­cour­age more tourists to come to In­dia. Ac­cord­ing to the mat­ter un­der dis­cus­sion, the coun­tries that could be of­fered this fa­cil­ity would in­clude Malaysia, Thai­land, Brunei, Spain, France, Ger­many, Swe­den, Rus­sia, Ukraine, Kaza­khstan, Brazil and South Africa.

The Home Min­istry will now be work­ing out the de­tails on this pro­posal by keep­ing se­cu­rity is­sues in mind, par­tic­u­larly by util­is­ing in­for­ma­tion-shar­ing agree­ments with ASEAN and the Euro­pean Union.

At present, there are 13 coun­tries whose na­tion­als can avail VoA in In­dia and this in­cludes Fin­land, Ja­pan, Lux­em­bourg, New Zealand, Sin­ga­pore, Cam­bo­dia, In­done­sia, Viet­nam, Laos, Myan­mar and the Philip­pines. This list how­ever misses out on the pop­u­lous na­tions that can be tapped to in­crease In­dia’s num­ber for in­bound tourists.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.