Samba server types and se­cu­rity modes

OpenSource For You - - ADMIN OVERVIEW -

There are three dif­fer­ent types of servers avail­able: Do­main con­troller • Pri­mary do­main con­troller (PDC) • Backup do­main con­troller (BDC) • ADS do­main con­troller Do­main mem­ber server • Ac­tive di­rec­tory do­main server • NT4 style do­main server Stand­alone server There are two types of se­cu­rity modes avail­able for Samba: share-level and user-level, known as se­cu­rity lev­els.

Share-level se­cu­rity: This can be im­ple­mented in only one way. With share-level se­cu­rity, the server ex­pects a pass­word for each share. It is not de­pen­dent on a par­tic­u­lar user name.

In smb.conf, the se­cu­rity=share di­rec­tive that sets sharelevel se­cu­rity is: com­pat­i­ble au­then­ti­ca­tion pro­to­cols.

In smb.conf, this can be achieved by us­ing the fol­low­ing di­rec­tives:

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.