Ud­dhav wins trust vote, dead­lock over deputy CM


THE Ud­dhav Thack­eray gov­ern­ment in Ma­ha­rash­tra won the trust vote on Satur­day se­cur­ing 169 votes, well above the half-way mark of 145. The BJP boy­cotted the pro­ceed­ings protest­ing the man­ner in which the ses­sion was called and the change in pro­tem speaker, while mem­bers of MNS, MIM and CPM re­mained neu­tral.

Mean­while, the NCP is yet to name the deputy chief min­is­ter with sources say­ing the Ajit Pawar lobby is put­ting pres­sure on the party to give him the post.

While it was re­ported on Fri­day that the NCP opted for the Speak­ers’ post in­stead of the deputy CM’s, the equa­tion changed again on Satur­day. The Congress’ Nana Pa­tole and BJP’s Kisan Kathore are likely to con­test for the post of Speaker on Sun­day.

Rais­ing the point of pro­ce­dure, former CM Deven­dra Fad­navis said, “This ses­sion is not ac­cord­ing to the pro­vi­sions of the Con­sti­tu­tion,” ad­ding the pre­vi­ous ses­sion, called on Novem­ber 27, ended with na­tional an­them. How­ever, Pro-tem Speaker Dilip Walse-Patil said the gov­er­nor can con­vene ses­sion within seven days of the end of a ses­sion and it is counted as the con­tin­u­a­tion of the ses­sion.

“IF this is not a new ses­sion, why was the pro-tem speaker is changed?” Fad­navis asked. BJP’s Kal­i­das Ko­lam­bkar was ap­pointed pro-tem speaker on Novem­ber 26. How­ever, af­ter form­ing the gov­ern­ment, the Ud­dhav Cabi­net re­placed him with NCP’s Patil.

Fad­navis also noted the oath taken by the CM and his Cabi­net was not ac­cord­ing to the pro­vi­sions of the Con­sti­tu­tion. “They did not take oath im­me­di­ately af­ter the gov­er­nor started it. They kept tak­ing names of lead­ers in be­tween. Some­one took Balasa­heb Thack­eray’s name, some­one took names of (Congress chief) So­nia Gandhi and NCP pres­i­dent Sharad Pawar. The oath has to be taken as men­tioned in the pro forma,” Fad­navis said.

How­ever, the pro-tem speaker ruled out this ob­jec­tion say­ing it won’t be right to dis­cuss things that haven’t hap­pened in the

House. “This has to do with the Raj Bha­van. So, I wouldn’t be in a po­si­tion to do any­thing,” Patil said and called for CM to in­tro­duce his min­is­ters to the House. This en­raged the BJP mem­bers and they took it to the well of the house, shout­ing slo­gans. Amid the ruckus, the min­is­ters were in­tro­duced to the House.

The pro-tem speaker, then, called in for the trust mo­tion.

Former CM and se­nior Congress leader Ashok Cha­van moved the mo­tion ex­press­ing trust in the gov­ern­ment un­der Ud­dhav. NCP’s Nawab Ma­lik and Shiv Sena’s Su­nil Prabhu sec­onded the mo­tion.

While the op­po­si­tion con­tin­ued to raise slo­gans, the pro­tem speaker re­quested all mem­bers to be seated for a head count.

Ud­dhav Thack­eray

Congress leader and in-charge for Ma­ha­rash­tra Mal­likar­jun Kharge, party’s state unit pres­i­dent Balasa­heb Tho­rat with other MLAs in Mumbai |

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from India

© PressReader. All rights reserved.